A to Z: “Over the Rainbow/What A Wonderful World”

“O” Inspiration: “Over the Rainbow/What A Wonderful World” by Israel “IZ” Kamakawiwo`ole


I can feel the sun on my face
it’s warmth renders a serenity I can’t erase.
In this world filled with war, poverty and famine,
I dreamt of a life of peace, love and jollification.
Woken into a harsh reality of a world in despair,
I return to my pillow, eyes closed in prayer.
“Dear God, how do we ever recover from this low?”
I open my eyes right as the sky unveils a giant rainbow.

Have you ever heard any of Israel “IZ” Kamakawiwo`ole’s music before he passed away?  What does hearing this song trigger for you?

Tagged with:
Posted in A to Z Challenge, Music, Poetry

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
