A to Z: “Numb/Encore”

“N” Inspiration: “Numb/Encore” by Jay Z and Linkin Park 


Born to be great, that’s what they said.
It’s in the genes, it’s expected
in a large family with a deep history.
But what about my story?
What if my plan is different?
Assuming one-size-fits-all is ignorant.
Success isn’t a wedding and 2.5 kids.
Not a house with a white picket fence.

I don’t measure success by meeting a status quo.
It’s not about having more friends than foes.
It’s about love, kindness and giving back.
It’s about doing what I love, creating an impact.
Don’t know what you are expecting of me;
Can you to have faith? Can you believe?

My happiness doesn’t depend on your approval.
I’m not aiming to please, my choices aren’t communal.
It’s my time to rise up, the time is now.
Time to be bold, raise my voice and shout!

Do you have a rise up and be great song? What is your favorite song mash-up and/or collaboration project?

Tagged with:
Posted in A to Z Challenge, Music, Poetry

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
