A to Z: “Hands”

“H” Inspiration: “Hands” by Jewel


I recently was asked
how I was faring
in the times of today.

I paused.

But only for a moment.
Not because I’m unaffected
or that I don’t have friends
who face hate
Every. Single. Day.
But because while
I may seem small
and without power,
if I can bring kindness
to one child today
then I am not useless.

He may be cruel.
His riches may
pool out of his pores
and coat this country
in a film of privilege.
He may strike
fear in the form
of dollar signs
and travel bans,
but he cannot steal
the smiles off our faces.
He cannot steal the
happiness from our souls.

And for what he does steal
…his day will come.

Have you heard “Hands” before? Do you have another Jewel song that you like? What is the littlest thing you can do today to make a difference for a loved one?

Tagged with:
Posted in A to Z Challenge, Music, Poetry
2 comments on “A to Z: “Hands”
  1. Jak says:

    I was really close to featuring Jewel for me “J” post, but opted for something similar. I like her a lot and I believe I’ve head this before, but it’s been so long. For some reason I was expecting her to be playing the piano in the middle of the disaster in the video.

    Getting punchy with the poem! I think this calls back to an earlier poem. Don’t let your compassion be snuffed out, because you can always make a difference. Even with just a smile.

    • kborman says:

      Oh man, I didn’t know you were a Jewel fan — I have several of her albums and have loved her since her first album, Pieces of Me, back in 1995. I haven’t listened to lots of her recent stuff, but am sure it’s good.

      If this is punchy — we shall wait to see what “S” brings. 😛

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
