A to Z: “Build That Wall (Zia’s Theme)”


“B” Inspiration: “Build That Wall (Zia’s Theme)” by Darren Korb


We’ve been together four years,
four months and
sixteen days.
I know you love me,
but every time I open
my heart
to your soul,
you lock it in a box
and throw away the key.
I dig for connection
while you build a wall
around your heart.

And still I love you.
A love so deep
that I begin to lose sight
of  my passions.
I think you love me,
but every time I
make plans
you bail the last minute.
I dig for restitution
while you build for a
future that is unknown.

And still I loved you.
A love so deep
that when I try to create
our life together,
you brushed me aside.
You said you love me,
but every time I
stepped further backward.
Now I build a wall
while you dig for absolution.

Have you ever heard of this song before? If not, what did you think of it? Have you ever given up on relationship/friendship because it simply wasn’t going where you wanted it to go?

Tagged with:
Posted in A to Z Challenge, Music, Poetry
2 comments on “A to Z: “Build That Wall (Zia’s Theme)”
  1. Jak says:

    I have and I like it a lot! But I may have the soundtrack and be biased…

    I’ve had to let go of a few relationships. Not necessarily because they weren’t moving in any specific direction, but more so because of the emotional ramifications of remaining closely tied to them. Over time I may attempt to reconnect, but it’s not always a successful process and that’s fine, as long as there isn’t some insanely BS reasoning behind it. And even then that’s technically fine, but rather annoying 🙂

  2. kborman says:

    It’s such a great song, isn’t it? Unfortunately, I feel like many of my “ended” relationships have had to be more cut-throat style. I have tried to reconnect later in life, but usually so much has changed or there was so much impact in the end, that it becomes more of an “acquaintance’/ being civil sort of thing. There are certainly some, that given the time and distance, I wish them no ill-will by any means and it would actually be nice to reconnect, but until that day, things remain in that acquaintance realm.

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
