A to Z: Zumba

(An A to Z Challenge entry)

Z

It’s April 30 and that means it is the last day of the A to Z Challenge! “Z” brings us to Zumba!

My aunt invited me to attend a local Zumba class with her, and I had every intention to wake up this morning to go — but it appears instead of hitting just snooze, I either slept through my alarm or turned it off completely. So that sucks. Though to be fair, I was having some crazy dreams last night/this morning, so maybe I needed some rest.

Zumba has gained wild popularity over the last 5-7 years and is offered in a variety of settings from gyms to community rooms to parks. Many communities offer free or affordable classes. Here is a sample of what Zumba looks like:

I was first introduced to Zumba by way of my Latin Hip Hop Dance Class. In fact the “Rompe” dance song that I have made so famous on A to Z, was from that Latin Hip Hop Dance class. It was essentially a Zumba class prior to the instructor being certified in Zumba. Yes– you heard that right — in order for someone to teach Zumba they need to be certified.

I love Zumba that has more of the reggaeton influence. It is a great way to get your body in the groove and get exercise as well.

Have you ever done Zumba? If so, what is your favorite songs/moves?

 

Posted in A to Z Challenge, Fitness, Health

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z 2016 Challenge Survivor
A to Z 2015 Challenge Survivor
A to Z 2014 Challenge Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
