A to Z: Upper cuts, upper back stretch, upper back-leg grab, and upward stretch

(An A to Z Challenge entry)

U

We are entering the part of the alphabet where things can get a bit creative, to say the least. But thankfully I found decent “U’s” to keep me busy for this post. Unfortunately, I am writing this post first and will have to exercise later (had another writing challenge that took my attention yesterday). And so without further ado, let’s uncover upper cuts, upper back stretch, upper back-leg grab, and upward stretch.

Upper cuts

Crank Health & Fitness’s pdf shares upper cuts for the letter U. In my notorious “Rompe” boxing song, there is a segment that includes upper cuts. Though I am pretty sure these are a bit different, seeing as they include dumbbells — so less like a boxer in speed but focusing more on engaged muscles and toning.

Screen Shot 2016-04-25 at 8.18.43 PM

Upper back stretch

This upper back stretch was easy enough to try out quickly. And in trying it, it will likely work fine for most people but for me, not so much. Not that it is hard, but it is because I have double jointed elbows which result in my elbows overextending in stretches similar to this one. While I felt a slight stretch in my back, I mostly felt my elbows over-extending, which doesn’t exactly feel great. I think I will pass on this one.

Upper back-leg grab

Having done something similar to this in the past, I know I will feel the upper back-leg grab in both my hamstrings and mid-lower back. I can almost feel it just thinking about it! Take a look here:

Screen Shot 2016-04-25 at 8.35.28 PM

This a great stretch to remember in the future.

Upward stretch

The upward stretch is like reaching for the stars! Well sortuv — you reach toward the sky with specific instructions. As seen below, you place your hands together, palms touching, like you would in prayer. Then push your hands toward the ceiling. Once above the head push them back while keeping straight posture. You should feel a stretch in your shoulders and chest. I tried this one briefly and could definitely feel it!

Screen Shot 2016-04-25 at 8.56.00 PM

That these are my “U” exercises!

Final Verdict

I think I will like the upper cuts using weights — a more refined version of what I am used to, plus incorporating some strength building. And minus the upper back stretch, the other stretches look like they will fair well for me too. Great additions to my new portfolio of exercises!

Health point challenge: Forthcoming.

Have you ever used dumbbell weights with upper cut or other boxing moves? Are you familiar with any other “U” exercises that might be good to try?

Posted in A to Z Challenge, Fitness, Goals, Health
2 comments on “A to Z: Upper cuts, upper back stretch, upper back-leg grab, and upward stretch
  1. I.L. Wolf says:

    And I just decided to skip my workout today. Is this a hint, perhaps?! I’m relegated to my glasses for the moment, and it makes it a little more challenging.

    Or does that sound like an excuse?!

    @IsaLeeWolf
    A Bit to Read

    • kborman says:

      We’ve all been there. I have done it a lot this week unfortunately. I think this challenge is starting to get the best of me!

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
