A to Z: Stomach vacuum, sumo squats, sumo squat stretch, superman and ….

(An A to Z Challenge entry)

S

So Friday night turned into the epitome of lazy. I had several “S” exercises lined up but didn’t get to them as I wanted. And really there is no shortage of standard “S” exercises including sit ups and stairs. But I do like to find ones that I am not as familiar with. The ones I had contemplated were:¬†Stomach vacuum, sumo squats, sumo squat stretch, superman and …. last but not least, sex.

Stomach vacuum

This seems to be a great posture exercise as well as working your abs. Find out more by reading bodybuilding.com’s instructions or viewing the images below. The key is to be able to still keep a normal pace of breathing — no holding your breath!

Screen Shot 2016-04-23 at 9.26.05 PM

Sumo squats and sumo squat stretch

Time to embrace your inner sumo wrestler! I found the sumo squats on the Crank Health & Fitness pdf and then found the sumo squat stretch on bodybuilding.com. While very similar in nature, the one is obviously a stretch while the squats are strength building.

Screen Shot 2016-04-23 at 9.29.19 PM

Screen Shot 2016-04-23 at 9.27.35 PM

The squats look like they are intended to be done in repetitions while the stretch is one you just hold. Both would be a great combination to do together!

Superman!

Superman is an exercise great for the lower back, glutes, hamstrings and abs. Basically, by the time you complete the move, your body’s composition resembles Superman flying in the sky, like so:

Screen Shot 2016-04-23 at 9.39.39 PM

Learn more about Superman here.

Sex

Sex is a great exercise and I already know I am in the doghouse for this one because when I say I didn’t do any of these planned exercises, I meant it. But to be fair, I was feeling kinda yucky last night so … yeah. Yeah, yeah, excuses excuses.

But, sex is a great exercise and tension reliever!

Final Verdict

No big verdict here as I didn’t do these exercises but will be curious to try these at some point.

Have you ever tried either the sumo squats or the sumo squat stretch? What is your favorite “S” exercise?

Posted in A to Z Challenge, Fitness, Health

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
