A to Z: Oblique crunches, oblique crunches on the floor, one arm against wall stretch, outer thigh raise, and one half locust

(An A to Z Challenge entry)

O

Whoa, I am doing Monday’s post on Monday. Barely.

I am down to the wire so I won’t waste any time. Today’s lineup includes: oblique crunches, oblique crunches on the floor, one arm against wall stretch, outer thigh raise, and one half locust.

Oblique crunches

Utilizing a chair, and one arm behind the head, you can do crunches that focus on your oblique muscles.

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 11.21.22 PM

I was a bit leery on if it would work as such, but bodybuilding.com’s oblique crunches did in fact work my obliques. I could feel the burn on the sides of my abs almost immediately. I will be doing these again.

Oblique crunches on the floor

Alright, so how are these different? Well instead of putting your legs on a chair, you lay on one side with legs on top of each other, slightly bent while you work the other side’s obliques, like so:

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 11.25.43 PM

I could feel these too. So I guess you just pick your preference. I personally liked using the chair. One less thing to worry that I am laying the correct way.

One arm against the wall stretch

This stretch has such a creative name, one might assume I made it up in order to get another “O” in. But that’s not the case! See for yourself.

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 11.34.39 PM Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 11.34.30 PM

This is actually an excellent middle back/shoulder stretch! I have to remember to view the women’s pictures/videos more than the men’s because women tend to be more flexible and if I had looked at the women’s version, I would have likely gotten a better stretch. (The women’s version isn’t the one on the initial screen, you have to click to it and is a step I forget to do sometimes. I originally those it was listed as men’s and women’s — to be alphabetical but it isn’t — in fact it is listed as male and female. Is it because it is a male dominated site or they are being overly protective of splashing women first? Okay, okay this might be a rant for later/another time.)

If you notice in the pictures above, the male photo has his forearm against the wall whereas the female version has her triceps against the wall. I guess you put the arm on the wall where you get the best stretch?

Outer thigh raise

Ahh leg lifts. This is an exercise I am very familiar with and enjoy doing because you can feel the workout right away.

Borrowing this one from the Crank Health & Fitness pdf, you can see the directions below.

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 11.40.37 PM

Oh man! My right outer thigh is way stronger! I could do way more repetitions with that leg than I could with my left leg. Now I know an area to focus more attention!

One half locust

The one half locust was a last minute add-on that I TRIED to complete. I wasn’t very successful. I don’t think I have the flexibility/coordination yet for this one.  I could feel the stretch but it was hard to get my hands and feet to connect. Also my knees are still a little stiff from my fall which doesn’t help.

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 11.44.58 PM

Final Verdict

I could tell that by having a few days off with toning/strength training exercises, it was hard to get back in the groove. For that reason, it was nice to have a familiar exercise in the lineup (outer thigh raise). I will likely try both crunches again as well as the stretch. As I gain more flexibility, maybe the one half locust.

Health point challenge: Success!

What is your suggestion in regards to the one arm against the wall stretch discrepancy? Do you think you are supposed to do the stretch where you feel it most — either forearm or tricep against the wall? Have you done either of the oblique crunches before?

Posted in A to Z Challenge, Fitness, Goals, Health

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
