A to Z: Hamstring-smr, hip crossovers, hugging knees, hammer curls, hip circles, and half kneeling dumbbell shoulder presses

(An A to Z Challenge entry)

H

H. Over hell or high water, I was going to do you. None of this “G” bullshit. Took me some time to bring myself to that point, but guess what guys? I did it before 10 pm, so that’s saying a lot.

Let’s not waste any more time and just dive in.

Today’s lineup consisted of: Hamstring-smr, hip crossovers, hugging knees, hammer curls, hip circles, and half kneeling dumbbell shoulder presses.

Hamstring-smr

Putting my brand new foam roller to good use again, the hamstring-smr is a stretch that targets the tightness in your hamstrings. While not the easiest move to maneuver, I was able to find about three spots in each leg that were particularly tight. So once I found those spots, I held my leg there on the foam roller for about 15 seconds. I did this stretching exercises twice: before and after the other exercises.

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 5.20.15 PM

Hip crossovers

I was anticipating the hip crossovers to stretch my back more than they did. Honestly, with my arms stretched out to my side, I felt the biggest stretch in my chest and upper arms. Which was good because I could still feel the soreness from Thursday’s flys. Unsure how often I will do this stretch however.

Hugging knees

Lying on my back, I brought my knees to my chest and hugged them close. Adding in some variety I would also do other leg stretches, still hugging my knees close, but sometimes with one leg crossed over the other, etc.

Hammer curls

I enjoyed doing hammer curls. I do believe that I have the most arm strength in my biceps which helps. I will have to get heavier weights, though, because I can see myself quickly outgrowing my five pound weights with this strength training exercise.

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 5.31.10 PM

Hip circles

I was a little worried about doing hip circles once I saw they worked my abductors again. But I am pleased to report that they aren’t that bad — minus my hips cracking while doing it. But that only sounds gross and doesn’t actually hurt.

While I normally provide pictures for these exercises, I think the written instructions or the video is much more helpful for the hip circles. So here are bodybuilding.com’s instructions:

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 5.36.01 PM

Half kneeling dumbbell shoulder presses  

I was a little worried about doing the half kneeling dumbbell shoulder presses, simply because I was afraid about balance. The first set I did, I felt this weird pull in my lower back, opposite the side of the arm doing the press. I know I have lots of tension in my lower back that causes issues, so I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to do these.

But the next set I completed, I decided to hold my other dumbbell in that hand and that helped! I guess the deadweight possibly helped keep my hips level while I did the presses. These were a bit harder than the hammer curls, so I anticipate doing more of these in the future.

Final Verdict

I was pleasantly surprised by today’s workout. After “G” I was worried I would lose momentum or that some of the other exercises wouldn’t go over too well. But I was surprised. I see myself doing most of these again in the future, so that’s a win!

Health point challenge: Success!

What are your favorite “H” exercises? Have you ever tried the half kneeling shoulder presses before? If so, have you ever noticed a tightness in your back as you do them? Leave your comments below!

Posted in A to Z Challenge, Fitness, Goals, Health
2 comments on “A to Z: Hamstring-smr, hip crossovers, hugging knees, hammer curls, hip circles, and half kneeling dumbbell shoulder presses
  1. Jak says:

    This sounds like a much smoother workout than the other night. Most of these look fairly regular. No weird jumping around like a frog or some such… Anyhow, I like hammer lifts. I used to do them at the gym from time to time. The others aren’t very familiar, but seem like exercises I wouldn’t mind trying.

    I’d say you now get a day of rest, but that’s not true, Sucka! 🙂

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
