A to Z: Groin and back stretch, glute bridge hamstring walkout, glute kickback, groiners, and goblet squat

(An A to Z Challenge entry)

G

“G”. You are a toughie today. Overall has not been a great Friday. Sorry “G” you had an unfair advantage even upon waking up this morning.

You see I fell asleep last night without my CPAP on — and woke up feel so groggy and awful. Lesson learned as I was fatigued and lacking energy all day. “G” had great disadvantages from the get-go.

Regardless, I found a handful of strength training exercises to do today: Groin and back stretch, glute bridge hamstring walkout, glute kickback, groiners, and goblet squat.

And then I had this weird headache all day. And right as I started to do my “G” exercises, some of which require jumping movements, well that escalated the headache. And I am still very sore from yesterday’s workout. See?  “G” did not have the stars aligned.

So, today, I tried all of these exercises but spoiler alert, I did not complete the full 30 minutes.

Groin and back stretch

Screen Shot 2016-04-08 at 10.37.37 PM

I was excited for this stretch because I wanted a way to stretch my back out. Unfortunately, I must be a bit more flexible in my back than I thought, because this is just a glorified butterfly stretch and I could feel barely any stretch in my back. Maybe a little in my way lower back but that was about it. I will just stick to my butterfly stretches and try to find a better back stretch.

Glute bridge hamstring walkout

Where the first exercise I could not feel in by back, the glute bridge hamstring walkout on bodybuilding.com I could. I also felt it in my hamstrings a ton too. This isn’t a bad exercise, and can see myself trying it out again sometime — when I am feeling more up to par.

Screen Shot 2016-04-08 at 10.44.06 PM

Glute kickback

Now these are a winner to add to my series of different leg lifts. Glute kickbacks certainly kick you in your butt. I could feel the burn only after doing two sets of ten on each leg. Great butt toning exercise!

Groiners

Okay, to be honest, I think I can pair groiners up with flutter kicks on how much I enjoyed them. Okay, fine, flutter kicks are way worse but these were no picnic either. Basically to do these, you start on all fours with feet and hands on the ground about shoulder length apart and your butt in the air, and then you jump so that your feet are up by your hands and then jump back again. I presume you are supposed to do these with relative ease, but I certainly had a longer gap between jumping forward and jumping back than what seems normal. I am just not to the point where these can be fluid. And these were awful with a headache, so that might be a lot of the issue. But these are basically like a stationary leap frog and I would rather just leap frog.

Goblet squat

I hate, I mean haaaate squats. Always have and this wasn’t something I was excited to try either. Actually I wasn’t planning it at all, but when I realized I was not going to make my 30 minutes, I quickly looked for another exercise. But let’s be honest, I had made up my mind prior to these squats. These were on the Crank Health and Fitness pdf that I shared yesterday. As the fourth column says, these are great for upper body awareness and I can totally see why. While it was working my legs, I did find myself pay more attention to my back and core.

Screen Shot 2016-04-08 at 10.56.22 PM

Maybe someday squats won’t be so awful and I will try these again. Maybe.

Final Verdict

As you could probably tell from above, I am just not having it and “G” universally just seems hard. Where was my dancing moves when I needed them?!?

Health point challenge: Nope.

Do you know any good “G” exercises? If so, leave your comments and suggestions below!

Posted in A to Z Challenge, Fitness, Goals, Health, Struggles
6 comments on “A to Z: Groin and back stretch, glute bridge hamstring walkout, glute kickback, groiners, and goblet squat
  1. Jak says:

    Sorry you had such a rough day 😦 I’m glad it wasn’t a migraine, but still a headache isn’t ever a good thing, nor is it going to help when you are already exhausted and have to workout. I don’t think I’d be a fan of any of these. Maybe the stretch ones you mentioned.

    Those squats and jumping one, naw, I’ll pass!

    I think you should be able to dance to fill in any gap that some of these exercises don’t fill time-wise. I notice you keep looking for more or amp up the reps, but I don’t see why dancing wouldn’t be a good filler or after-workout 🙂

    • kborman says:

      We win some, we lose some. The headache slowly worked itself toward a migraine but I popped the migraine pill to keep that at bay. Probably should have earlier, but I try to wait it out when they aren’t so bad.

      Maybe on slow days, I will have to just dance it out. Not a bad idea — oh man, I just totally remembered a reference I meant to include in my dance post!

  2. Hi Kborman, I’m sure I commented on your B post but have had lots of problems with comments this challenge and can’t find it. I am enjoying your posts.Any glute exercise is hard work… especially when you are feeling lousy. Just yesterday I experimented using paper towels under my feet and sliding (on a slippery floor) rather than walking out for the glute bridge …. ouch! I hope your weekend sees you feeling better.
    Reflex Reactions

    • kborman says:

      Thanks for swinging by again — I think you caught up with me on “C” before. 🙂

      Yes, glute exercises are hard! Hard to get that tush in gear when we are more used to sitting on it — at least for me!

  3. […] originally thought that the quadruped leg lift was like others that I did (glute kickbacks). While they are similar-ish, instead of bending our leg, you keep it straight, and instead of […]

  4. […] originally thought that the quadruped leg lift was like others that I did (glute kickbacks). While they are similar-ish, instead of bending our leg, you keep it straight, and instead of […]

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
