A to Z: Flys, frog sit ups, fire hydrant, front leg raises, feet jacks, flutter kicks and foot smr

(An A to Z Challenge entry)

F

Much like my “C”, “F” brings a plethora of strength training and toning exercises. It may seem excessive, but trust me it is not. I needed the variety on these and even still, it kicked my butt. The ending routine was: Flys, frog sit ups, fire hydrant, front leg raises, feet jacks, flutter kicks and foot-smr. I did this combination three times, minus the foot-smr, and ended in the some stretches and finally did the foot-smr. With each exercise, I added more repetitions each round, and for the most part that went over well. But let’s see how it all really went!

Flys

This is the first exercise I have used from an A to Z list I found as I was preparing for the challenge. It is from this pdf I found from Crank Health & Fitness.

Screen Shot 2016-04-07 at 11.03.28 PM

For these, I dug out my dusty five pound weights (literally had to clean them off!). I didn’t use a yoga ball like this suggests, I just did them on the floor. I own a yoga ball somewhere… but have yet to actually locate its deflated self and blow it up.

I have done these before once upon-a-time, but it has been a very long time. And man, I could feel them. I did my best to be in the moment in these, to keep focused to maintain control and balance — but it can be tricky. They are way easier when you don’t pay attention but I also know that is how you injure yourself!

Frog sit-ups

These are much like normal sit ups or crunches except your legs are in the shape of froggy legs, like so:

Screen Shot 2016-04-07 at 11.12.15 PM

I didn’t think these would be much different than normal sit ups — but man, I felt these way more in my central and lower abs. These are a great workout!

Fire hydrant

Time to bring out your inner dog and mark your territory. Yep, these are just like a male dog peeing on a fire hydrant. To get into position, you get down on all fours and then you lift your leg with your knee bent and repeat.

Screen Shot 2016-04-07 at 11.49.06 PM

Much like the clams, these work our abductors and your glutes — and you can quickly feel the burn! A great workout where I could feel my body adjusting to these the more I did them — it felt like a great warm up. I am sure if I did more than 30 repetitions at a time, it would be a different story, but I worked my way up from 10 to 20 on each side for these.

Front leg raises

I saw the front legs raises on bodybuilding.com and they looked like a lot of fun. Almost like my legs were taking flight!

Screen Shot 2016-04-07 at 11.20.54 PM

And they weren’t bad, but the thing I will change for next time is that I find a higher/more sturdy furniture to keep my balance with. I first used the back of the couch but it was too low, then I used the table, but I kept wiggling it too much, and then tried the wall but didn’t have enough room for where I was. I eventually returned to the couch but I know I didn’t get the full benefit from these that way.

Feet jacks

Feet jacks are basically jumping jacks minus the arm movement. These did not go as well as I had hoped. Mostly my own fault. As a well-endowed woman, I was not wearing the proper bra for this time of jumping around, if you know what I mean. Definitely wear a sports bra with this one, ladies.

Screen Shot 2016-04-07 at 11.24.51 PM

Flutter kicks

These were awful. Once I started these, I realized they were very similar to a leg lift exercise I have done in the past that I was never very good at it. I thought they might be something like swimming, but NOOOOPE. I underestimated these by a long shot. I really miss that whole anti-gravity feature of water.

abs-exercises-scissor-kicks

In my first set of flutter kicks, I did them right after the frog sit ups and that was an ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE IDEA. I could barely do it. So then I decided for the next rotation, I would move them to the end. To give my abs a slight break. I managed to do it, but barely and I can guarantee that I counted super fast.

To be honest, I am embarrassed with how poorly I could do this exercise. It made me realize just how weak my core/back muscles are. I do wonder how these would be if I did the kicks on my stomach like bodybuilding.com suggests:

Screen Shot 2016-04-07 at 11.33.02 PM

Nevermind, let’s face it, I am in no hurry to figure out.

Foot-smr

After ending my workout session in stretches, I sat down to write this post and tried the foot-smr exercise from bodybuilding.com.

Screen Shot 2016-04-07 at 11.35.13 PM

I initially did it with the foam roller that I bought and used in calves-smr, and while it felt like a massage on my feet, the curve of the foam roller was too big, it didn’t get the stretch I needed. That’s when I reached for my hand weights and used the handle of those to really get the hold position nicely and to feel the stretch/pressure. That helped a lot, but my weights are more oval shaped than circular. I could see where a pvc pipe would be very beneficial In the end, both versions were nice — one more relaxing than the other, and I anticipate doing more of these — and maybe find a better tool.

Final Verdict

I can feel this workout a lot. I wasn’t sure on some of it — and I underestimated a couple of these exercises,  but I am telling you to not make my same mistake. These exercises are excellent for toning and strength training. A few of these I will try again willingly, but those flutter kicks… well, you will have to entice me with something grand in order for me to jump back on that wagon.

Health point challenge: Success!

Do you have any favorite “F” exercises? Have you ever done flutter kicks? Did they kick your butt –err– abs as much as they did for me? Do you have ideas on how to improve that part of your core without doing those? Leave your comments below!

Posted in A to Z Challenge, Fitness, Goals, Health, Struggles
2 comments on “A to Z: Flys, frog sit ups, fire hydrant, front leg raises, feet jacks, flutter kicks and foot smr
  1. Jak says:

    Hmm I’m not sure how many of these I would enjoy trying lol I remember you being SO excited about those flutter kicks “Oh it’s like swimming!” Lmao Noooooope! I’d be down for maybe those weird frog sit-ups, but that just seems so awkward.

    Now the Fire Hydrant I could get down for! Looks super simple and just kind of funny, because, you know…

    I think I was too distracted writing to fully keep up with your “F” exercises, but I think I recall you doing the jumping jacks without the arm movements. I would have thought that one would be easy.

    Not sure, but you may be doing too many exercises focusing on certain areas with not enough breaks/heal time in between. You gotta be careful! And like I said before. Stretching should always be done before and after, regardless of any being available in the letter of the day.

    • kborman says:

      Hahaha, yeah those flutter kicks are no where near swimming. NOTHING LIKE IT.

      The foot jacks were easy, but I am a bit less than coordinated with them and you aren’t a well endowed woman! Needed a sports bra for those, no doubt.

      Yeah I gotta stretch more — never been great at that because I tend to get bored with it lol. I used to do well afterwards but never was good about before. I tried to do it today though!

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
