A to Z: Air bike, alternate heel touchers, ankle circles, and arm circles

(An A to Z Challenge entry)

A

So it is April 1st and it is no April’s Fools that A to Z started today. However, as 8 o’clock turned to 9 o’clock and 9 starting to creep toward 10, I was starting to wish it had been.

As I revealed earlier this week, my goal is to merge two April challenges into one: my 30 minute exercise goal as part of a health challenge with friends and the A to Z Challenge. Today, the primary source for my moves comes from www.bodybuilding.com. I have come to love their site, as they provide an alphabetical list of exercises. For each entry they include video instructions, written instructions, pictures as well as information about what body parts it affects and whether the exercise is rated beginner, intermediate or advanced. In addition to all of that, they also have user ratings and reviews. VERY thorough and I know I will be referencing and using this site a lot. I highly recommend checking it out.

Upon researching moves on bodybuilding.com, I quickly realized that as an individual who has slacked in the workout department for FAR TOO LONG, there was no way I could do a solo strength-building exercise for 30 minutes. And so I started to add more. And really, what I ended up with seemed to be a perfect combination. My abs certainly got an extra workout tonight, though the exercise names are rather deceiving. I suppose abs for “A” seems fitting, but OUCH!

And so, as my title shows, my final line-up for the night was: Air bike, alternate heel touches, ankle circles, and arm circles. Let’s find out how they went. At then end you can read my final verdict as well as find out if I successfully met my health point challenge or not.

Air Bike

The air bike was the only exercise where I found confusion. You see, growing up, the air bike for me was always replicating the biking circular movement as I lay on my back with my legs in the air — as if the pedals of the bike were facing toward the ceiling. However, when I looked it up to verify I was doing it correctly, I found that air bike actually meant this on bodybuilding.com:

209_1

http://videos.bodybuilding.com/video/43791/Exercise-Guides-Air-Bike-FemaleShort-Clip

Umm, excuse me?! Yikes.

Instead of only doing the one that looked DREADFUL, I decided to do both my version and bodybuilding.com’s version. I certainly felt like mine was easier and a bit more fun, but the more official air bike was harder and likely a better work out. Though I often felt due to my lack of ab muscles, I failed at the bodybuilding.com miserably and would like to try it again when more in shape. But realistically, I might stick to MY version of the air bike more often. 😉

Alternate heel touchers

I was way more worried about the alternate heel touchers than maybe I should have been. I knew I could do them, and perhaps needed to modify them some (again abs and flexibility are ROUGH for me right now). But overall felt it was something I could do.

105_2

And I felt like I did these decently. Again, I would like to try again when I am in better shape, but I could definitely #feelthebern (oh wait, wrong burn reference!). I could see myself doing more of these — so these are a winner!

Ankle circles

Ankle circles may seem like a cop-out, but these were actually my saving grace. When I needed a break, especially from my intense ab exercises, I was able to do so while still moving. Plus, I realized just how tight my ankles actually were — they cracked a lot initially and relaxed the more circles I completed.

Arm circles

Arm circles were also a saving grace for me — or so I thought. I realize now that I did not do both arms together like bodybuilding.com instructs, but did them separately. I did find that arm circles going forward are way harder than going backward. To be honest, I am not sure I have actually done this exercise as an adult — or at least not for a very long time. As I type, I can feel that my shoulders got a workout — they have a nice warm, tingly sensation. I would be curious to do both together as well as add resistance as I get stronger.

Final Verdict

My half hour went faster than I thought it would. To be honest, I was really worried, but I think having exercises I could alternate through as my muscles got tired and sore was SUPER helpful. I certainly will think of this in the future for some letters. I can see spending 30 minutes on cardio exercises no problem, but spending 30 minutes on just one strength building or toning exercise may be an issue. And on that note, I better go research and plan more for B…

Health point challenge: Success!

Am I the only one who thought an air bike was something completely different?! Do you have other exercises that start with A? How about B? Any wisdom or advice? Leave your comments below!

Posted in A to Z Challenge, Fitness, Goals, Health, Struggles
7 comments on “A to Z: Air bike, alternate heel touchers, ankle circles, and arm circles
  1. Jak says:

    It’s on again! I had hoped to be way planned ahead for this year’s A to Z, so it being an April Fools joke would have been dandy.

    I really like you are incorporating the health challenge in with the A to Z. Before you know it you’ll be wanting to hit the gym on a regular basis! I can’t help but envision your chosen A to Z process leaving you physically exhausted, mine leaving me emotional exhausted, and the both of us huddled together in the corner drowning in tears >.>

    I really enjoyed watching you try out these exercises! I thought the air bike was how you originally described. My A would have been Ab Roller, since I actually kind of like using it, you know, the one time every two years or so…

    Keep up the great work and feel the Bern! Eh… Burn!

    • kborman says:

      My HOPE is that this double challenge will mean I will want to hit the gym regularly. It is looking like my “E” will require it, so either next Tuesday night or Wednesday, we may be forced to venture that way.

      I was hoping your phrase “your chosen A to Z process leaving you physically exhausted, mine leaving me emotional exhausted, and the both of us huddled together in the corner drowning in tears” ended in something other than tears. I was hoping for cuddles. My sore body may need your tender touch.

      I was hoping you weren’t watching too much since I knew you were writing. I am so glad that my air bike wasn’t a figment of my imagination!

  2. Gail says:

    You are an inspiration! I am going to get on my own Air Bike tomorrow! And I agree, that is not the air bike I was familiar with…The A workout I usually do is Ab Ripper X from P90X, but I have to admit, I haven’t done it in awhile…
    Gail at Making Life An Art

    • kborman says:

      Thank you so much for your sweet comment. I am glad to know that my air bike is a legit assumption!
      Your “A” workout sounds impressive and intense! I am aware enough about P90X to know that those who do it are warriors! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. dyannedillon says:

    That’s totally the way I thought “air bike” was done, too. You had to roll up on your upper back and hold your hips up in the air with your hands, then pedal like crazy.

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
