A to Z Challenge: 2016 Reveal

atoz-theme-reveal-2016 v2

It’s been a year since I last wrote on this blog. Not something I am proud about, but it has been a busy year! As the shortest recap ever, I basically started a new job shortly after my last post and have been fairly content with no strong desire to write.

But nothing like the A to Z Challenge in April to bring me back to this dusty ol’ thing.

It turns out, 2016 is the year that I am pushing myself to new challenges. For example, I am participating in a health challenge with two of my closest friends as an ongoing attempt to try to make and create healthier life habits: eat healthier, work out, cook more often, take vitamins etc. We each have 3 goals + weight loss/maintenance — all worth points. So if you complete all your daily goals you can gain up to three points a day. Then we do weekly maintenance/weight loss points as well.  At the end of the month, whoever has the most points wins. And we even have a monetary contribution for said winner –as an extra incentive to do well. If you lose, you pay up your point difference up to $10. So the monthly winner has the opportunity to win up to $20 total. Sweet deal, right?

So far it has been going fairly well. I started out strong in the first month, ended up winning thanks to two of my three daily goals. But the one area that I continually fall short on is working out. And since I fall short on it, I have kept it as a goal, and therefore, lose points on it regularly. Exercise is not something I particularly enjoy. It’s not that I hate it, but I lack motivation to actually do it. And when push comes to shove, if I have two or three things I need to get done at the end of any given day, let’s just say exercising is not the item that wins out. And I need to really form a new habit.

This April will be my third year participating in the A to Z Challenge and I decided to merge my two challenges into one! And so, without further ado…my theme reveal:

Find an exercise, attempt/do it for 30 minutes, and then blog about it.

Genius, right?! Not only will I complete my A to Z requirements, but I will hopefully fulfill my exercise requirement as well and gain my most challenging daily health point! (Well at least six days a week — remember, Sundays are days of rest!) The exercise health point is not necessarily about doing cardio every day — it is more about getting active and creating healthy habits. So for example, if I chose “walking” for “W,” the goal is to go for a 30 minute walk and then blog about how it went.

My goal is to find a move, provide context/instructions on to how to do said move and then blog about how it goes. I imagine, since I am very rusty in the workout department, this will be extra extra challenging. I may be very sore the first few days. If I successfully complete the exercise for thirty minutes then great! However, there may be some that I simply cannot do — but if I can’t I will blog about my challenges and perhaps some of you fine folks can provide tips or help motivate me to try again.

I have already found few websites that will be helpful in identifying work out moves or toning exercises. But I may need some help for those crazy letters (Q, X, Y and Z). We all know that those are always an extra challenge in A to Z.

My hope is that A to Z will both motivate and force me to move my butt –literally.  Wish me luck!

Have you ever done a health challenge with friends? If so, how did it go? Do you have any exercise suggestions/ideas/advice? I would love to hear them!

Posted in A to Z Challenge, Goals, Health
One comment on “A to Z Challenge: 2016 Reveal
  1. […] I revealed earlier this week, my goal is to merge two April challenges into one: my 30 minute exercise goal as part of a health […]

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
