A to Z: Simplicity

(An A to Z Challenge entry)

S

Sleeping in on Saturday mornings,
I slowly wake and sit in silence.
Stretching my limbs,
I absorb life’s simplicity.

Sunlight peeks through my shades.
casting shadows on my skin.
I succumb to my surroundings
to embrace life’s simplicity.

As onions saute in scrambled eggs
and sausages sizzle on the stove.
I sip on hot coffee
tasting life’s simplicity.

Aromas tantalize my nostrils.
Sweet and savory scents
wisp gently into my breaths.
I inhale life’s simplicity.

Songbirds sing melodies softly.
As squirrels scatter nuts and snicker,
I listen to their whispers.
I eavesdrop on life’s simplicity.

Tagged with:
Posted in A to Z Challenge, Poetry
2 comments on “A to Z: Simplicity
  1. Jak says:

    I really like this one, with the different senses experiencing the simplicity. Simplicity is usually the best kind of life… at least for me… until I start to “miss the bullets”…

    • kborman says:

      Saturday mornings have always included my favorite memories — for all those sensual simplicities and the ability to take life at a little slower pace than most days.

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
