A to Z: Herman

(An A to Z Challenge entry)

H

I was three years old when the only grandpa I knew passed away.
Apparently I sang to him while he was dying in his hospital bed.
I have no recollection of that.
I have one distant memory of him.

The grandfather in my heart isn’t my grandpa.
Blood does not tie us, but love does.

My memories consist of Friday nights.
A dinner out, and games in.
Silly jokes and banter.
Foot rubs and sweet treats.

He taught me how to pour my first cup of coffee,
pouring just enough milk to create that smooth caramel color.
And he was there for every birthday.

As a kid, I felt cheated.
The loss of a grandfather.

He has always been the uncle older than dirt.
A monkey who always had a joke up his sleeve.
A mentor who had great stories to tell.

But as I aged, I realized I had a grandpa.
And I couldn’t have asked for a better one.
Blood does not tie us, but love does.

Tagged with:
Posted in A to Z Challenge, Poetry
6 comments on “A to Z: Herman
  1. Jak says:

    This is awesome. So heartwarming. I’m glad over time you began to view him as your grandfather, and your repeated line “blood does not tie us, but love does” is true. This is also true of your Mini Me. 🙂

  2. dyannedillon says:

    My mother’s father died when I was 3 weeks old. Obviously, I have no memories of him, but I have always felt as though I knew him from the memories of others in the family who did.

    • kborman says:

      That is very true. My mother’s dad died when she was 19 – so neither my dad or siblings knew him either. But the stories my mom shares make him feel very alive some days.

  3. gapark says:

    I have an “aunt and uncle” that are not “blood” but closer than the blood aunts and uncles I do have. Love this. Very nicely done.

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
