A to Z: Daring to dream

(An A to Z Challenge entry)

D

Daring to dream becomes a twisted reality,
where my opportunities return as failures and
my adventures turn into nightmares.

I cannot blink without tears streaming down my face.
And terrors startle me awake.
But the moment I feel your warm embrace,
I am reminded that I am not alone.

You explain that dreams are not dares,
and you can’t determine their destination.
But rather, dreams are little “me” truths,
just waiting for their moment to shine.

When I awake and you are waiting.
and we decide to tackle our truths together.

Tagged with:
Posted in A to Z Challenge, Poetry
4 comments on “A to Z: Daring to dream
  1. Jak says:

    Another beautiful poem. This one is definitely a lot more emotional and are the type I like a lot. Fun and whimsical is good, but delving deep to where our demons lie is where the meat of our stories unfold.

  2. dyannedillon says:

    I love the line that dreams are not dares. Very nice!

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
