A to Z: Bicycles

(An A to Z Challenge entry)

B

Before the break of day,
Before the break of fast.
My wheels spin steadily
toward the horizon.

The cool breeze on my face,
contrasts the burning in my legs.
My body keeps pace
so my mind can be free.

Before the break of day,
Before the break of fast.
My wheels spin steadily
toward the horizon.

There is an uphill battle ahead
but my desire to push
through the tread
is my only salvation.

Before the break of day,
Before the break of fast.
My wheels spin steadily
toward the horizon.

Tagged with:
Posted in A to Z Challenge, Poetry
13 comments on “A to Z: Bicycles
  1. Stephen Tremp says:

    Reminds me of the paper route I had as a kid. Get up before sunrise and pedal all over the place and up hillls to toss out hundreds of newspapers.

  2. rogershipp says:

    The cool breeze on my face,
    contrasts the burning in my legs.
    My body keeps pace
    so my mind can be free.

    There seems to be such a purposefulness to the drivenness. A man at peace with himself and his situation. I liked it!
    I don’t usually do poems… a haiku of sorts now and then. I enjoy flash fiction.

    https://rogershipp.wordpress.com/

  3. Jak says:

    “The cool breeze on my face,
    contrasts the burning in my legs.
    My body keeps pace
    so my mind can be free.”

    Was my favorite “verse”? I suck so bad at poetry. Either way, I like the implications of pushing forward despite the obstacles ahead. Lord knows we’ve all had our share!

  4. It’s been a while since I rode a bike, but this reminds of the joys and the challenges.

  5. kborman says:

    Thank you for stopping by. It has been a REALLY long time for me as well. But these sorts of memories stick with you, don’t they?

  6. dyannedillon says:

    I used to ride a bike all the time when I was a kid. No helmet, of course; bicycle helmets weren’t even invented yet! My mom usually didn’t even know where I was. I was just out for a bike ride, often miles from home. Such freedom!

    • kborman says:

      I used to ride my bike too, and while I technically had a helmet at one point, my parents never told me I had to wear it. So of course, I didn’t.

      I haven’t ridden a bike in years, but pasttimes stick with you.

      I totally wrote this poem for you since you were waiting for a poem about bikes. I had another idea brewing, but then I read your comment and the game had changed. 🙂

  7. daniel derasmo says:

    This is timely as I’ve just started riding my bike to work. Only a few days a week, but it’s the most I’ve ridden since junior high. I could swear it used to be easier.

  8. kborman says:

    I am sure it was easier! I bet if I tried to ride my bike, I would feel the same way. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
