A to Z: Absence

(An A to Z Challenge entry)

A

They say you’ll make my heart grow fonder.
But what if I am trying to forget you?
Instead, you invade my nostrils
like a wet sock left in the backseat of my car during summer’s heat.

You wrack my brain, attacking my thoughts.
Why must I suffer in order to survive?
You are my greatest annoyance,
like my little brother asking me “why?” every two minutes.

So I decide to quit you, finally.
My actions overwhelm your deafening silence.
And then one day, several months after our departure,
I realize just how much you affected me.

——–

Getting back into the swing of writing and poetry. This was rough. I hope B-Z strike more creativity from me.

Tagged with:
Posted in A to Z Challenge, Poetry
8 comments on “A to Z: Absence
  1. Jak says:

    I think this is a great start! It will be just like riding a bike for you 🙂

    I’m going to pretend my “A” last year was stuck in your head. Muahahaha!

    Looking forward to reading more!

  2. Stephen Tremp says:

    We don;t know what we have until it’s gone. Sometimes this is not a bad thing. And thanks for participating in A to Z!

    • kborman says:

      Very true, I agree. Though this poem was inspired by an absence of activity and how it affected me, and in this case, the absence was what needed to go away.

  3. dyannedillon says:

    I love this, Kate! I love the line about invading your nostrils like a wet sock left in the car.

    Now write that poem about a bike….

    • kborman says:

      I had the idea all day, but when it came time to write, nothing. I only had that sock image in my mind.

      I will have to write it tonight, after work, but rest assured, it will be written.

  4. rogershipp says:

    Why must I suffer in order to survive?

    A powerful line!

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
