Ten Things of Thankful

050fc-tenthingsbanner

At some point my work weeks will likely get better and less stressful, but until then, my lists will likely consist mostly of my weekends, which alone makes me grateful that this blog hop lands on the weekend. It makes remembering the positives a heck of a lot easier.

  1. It’s a holiday weekend and I couldn’t be happier with the extra days off of work – they are long overdue. I took Friday off as well. I love me some four day weekends.
  2. Garage sales! That I was able to join Jak for some garage sales fun on Friday morning, even though I was on only a couple of hours of sleep.  Hopefully I wasn’t too much of a cranky pants for him.
  3. That we were able to find a couple of good finds in our garage sales outing.
  4. That Jak and I both lived through the shittiest day ever on Thursday.
  5. That Jak came to pick me up on a moment’s notice on Thursday. And then sat in the car with me when I bawled my eyes out after a super shitty long work day.
  6. That while in the middle of the shittiest of all shit days, Jak and I were still able to salvage some good parts (ya know, some amazing sexy time, late night Perkins run for dessert) and basically learned to just laugh at the shit storms that continued to come our way.
  7. Jak’s humor. Enough said.
  8. That my friend Sarah invited us over to her place for a BBQ tomorrow. We were getting worried that we wouldn’t have a place to go, but Sarah-buckets sensed our lack of plans and came to the rescue.
  9. Que Viet. It’s a little Chinese/Vietnamese restaurant about a half mile away which has become one of our favorites. We walked past in one of our recent walks and realized that we hadn’t been there in a while. So Friday night, we had date night and incorporated Que Viet into or nightly walk. Walked a half mile there, ate, and then took the long way home (1.5 miles).
  10. That Dairy Queen is doing a promo on their smoothies, BOGO for 99 cents. While I know I can make smoothies, these have become a nice treat as Jak and I slowly get back into healthier habits.
Posted in Thankfulness
7 comments on “Ten Things of Thankful
  1. dyannedillon says:

    Oh, Kate, I’m sorry you had a shitty Thursday! Hope all is well? So happy that you have Jak to ease you through a day like that.
    I never go to garage sales, because I feel guilty if I don’t find anything I want to buy there, like their stuff isn’t good enough for me (which, I guess, it isn’t).
    I wish we had a Vietnamese restaurant within 100 miles of us! We got hooked on pho last summer at Marian Days, a Vietnamese celebration in a town 15 miles away. Isn’t it weird that they have that celebration (thousands and thousands and THOUSANDS of Vietnamese people congregate there) AND a Vietnamese monastery, and not one Vietnamese restaurant. So we get our pho once a year 😦
    BOGO is BOGO. Take advantage!
    Have a good time at the BBQ today and have a better week at work!

    • kborman says:

      Unfortunately, my job has become increasingly more unsatisfying and stressful, so until I am able to find something else, it is likely that my work weeks will contain some element of stress. But yes, I am thankful I have Jak.

      Jak is HUGE on garage sales but since I work during the prime days/hours nowadays (they start as early as Wednesday mornings now!) I just let him take the car and venture on his way. But on Friday I went with and actually found some deals, some gifts for my niece’s birthday in two weeks.

      That IS crazy that there isn’t a Vietnamese restaurant in that town. Why on earth haven’t they realized there is a demand yet? Interesting. Well I am glad you are able to get your fix once a year at least. Though to be honest, I was surprised that Ms. Picky Eater liked pho!

      Yes, a BOGO is a BOGO. Won’t argue that!

      We are getting ready to go head to the BBQ now. Hopefully the weather cooperates!

  2. lrconsiderer says:

    Sorry to hear your Thursday was so bad, and that your job is going steadily downhill in terms of satisfaction and manageability. I hope things change for the better soon, and I’m really glad you have Jak to look after you and help make things better.

    I hope the weather was good for your BBQ

    • kborman says:

      HI Lizzi,

      Thanks for stopping by and for your words of encouragement.

      The rain held out for our BBQ. It was actually quite nice, it was thundering in the distance, but the rain kept at bay.

      • lrconsiderer says:

        Oh good, I’m glad the rain held out. I’ve had a day like that today, with it threatening showers every five minutes, but it’s been alright (thank goodness).

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
