Ten Things of Thankful

050fc-tenthingsbanner

 

Another week  These days I live for the weekends. Week days blur together and I can’t wait for the weekends when I have time for myself — where the stress can fall to the foot boards and not have to resurface until Monday mornings. Where I can escape my responsibilities as a “working adult.”

  1. And for that, I am thankful for the weekends.
  2. We celebrated Mother’s Day on Friday night. I always love when I can see all of my family, including my five munchkins, all at once. It’s like tackling 11 birds with one stone.
  3. That right when I walked in on Friday, my sister told me something hilarious. She said that as I was on my way, my niece Mia said to her, “I hope Auntie Kate brings her brother.” My sister says, “Brings who?” “I hope she brings her brother! Her brother Jak, I really like him.” So while I did not bring my BOYFRIEND Jak with me on Friday, I love that she has not only accepted Jak in her life, but he has found a place in her life too. Precious.
  4. I am thankful that Jak and I have kept up with our nightly walks at least 5 nights a week.
  5. Since we started keeping track one week ago on May 11, I have walked a total of 22.3 miles!
  6. Yesterday,  Jak and I went to a friend of his birthday BBQ. This is the second time I have met them, but the couple and their friends are always so nice. Nothing beats good food, good company and a great bonfire!
  7. I am thankful that I was able to take this awesome photo of the bonfire to share with friends on social media. No, I did not use any filters or anything. Jak was jealous that my camera was able to capture such intense flames.

    bonfire

    Awesome bonfire picture!

  8. This weekend was the Annual Art-a-Whirl artist studio gallery tour, the largest in the country. It has been in operation since 1995, but I have been going for the last 5-6 years. With a busy weekend already underway, Jak and I were able to find some time to go to one of my favorite artist buildings. I love this event every year. An additional perk this year was that since Jak lives within proximity to  part of the tour, we were able to incorporate our daily walk as our mode of transportation to the studio. Woohoo!
  9. The first stop on the tour was to see an artist’s gallery that I go to every year. Michael Birawer. I love seeing his artwork and was excited to show Jak his studio. He does a variety of mediums, but my favorites are his layer paintings. Below is an example of one of his pieces. Unfortunately, the photo doesn’t do his work justice. You lose the depth of his work, but I still highly encourage you to check our his website.

    Downtown St. Paul

    Downtown St. Paul

  10. For dinner tonight, we used a final Groupon for a local Greek restaurant. The deal was expiring on Tuesday, so we had to get it in. We got plenty of food for what we pay and they have amazing baklava. Can’t go wrong there!

What were some highlights of your week? Feel free to share your things of thankful in the comments below!

Posted in Family, Thankfulness
8 comments on “Ten Things of Thankful
  1. hey the exercise thing is what I’m (struggling) with of late… just on weekdays (for me it has to be morning…6am but then it’s done with).
    Totally identify with the busy thing, it’s amazing how time can speed up or slow down, depending on the circumstances…
    good to see you here at the TToT

    • kborman says:

      Somehow I think working out is one of those challenges that never seem to get easier for some people. I wish I could be motivated to work out in the wee hours of the morning, bur I will never be a morning person. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. oh! yeah!! FRIST!*

    long story on the spelling but it is the honor of being the first comment

  3. dyannedillon says:

    Obviously, you and Jak are doing a good job of avoiding PDA’s in front of the nieces and nephews, if she thought he was your brother! Good work!
    22 miles! Keep it up, and you’ll be at my house in no time 🙂
    Love the bonfire picture. It shows so much power and dimension!

    • kborman says:

      Yes, her comment was adorable! I called Jak on the spot and they chatted and he reassured her that he would be at her 4th birthday party.

      Oof, maybe once I walk 22 miles straight, then I will starting calculating the miles to Joplin! 🙂

      I do love the photo, and am impressed I got more than one even!

  4. Raquel says:

    Mmm… baklava. 🙂

    Love reading your gratitude lists! They have such good energy… makes me remember to be grateful, as well.

    Great job on the walking! That’s a lot of miles!

    • kborman says:

      Baklava is amazing! So so bad for you, but delish nonetheless!

      Aww, thanks so much! It is a good weekly reflection, that is for sure. Even when you are having a bad week, you quickly realize that coming up with 10 things aren’t hard to do.

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
