A to Z 2014: Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah

(An A to Z Challenge entry)

Z

Today marks the last day of the A to Z Challenge. As a first time participant, it had it highs and lows, but I am definitely ending on a high note: Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah!

Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah / Zip-A-Dee-A / My oh my, what a wonderful day!

I can say with near certainty, that I think I have never seen the video I posted above. I have heard this song MANY times, but never seen the video.

Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah for me is a celebratory moment. I am glad I participated in A to Z. It was a first time for me, and I imagine I will participate again next year. My favorite part? Finding new blogs to follow, and cyber meeting new writers and friends. I also learned a lot this month!

The biggest challenge for me was not necessarily the daily posting, but the daily engagement on other blogs. As someone who is a completely irregular blogger, it certainly was a challenge to let go of my leisurely pace of writing, reading and commenting on blog posts — but I survived!

To end this short celebratory post, I ask: Is anyone participating in a Blog Every Day in May challenge? (If I am ending on a high note, might as well keep the high going!)

I participated in a BEDiM challenge last year, but the woman who organized it doesn’t appear to be doing so again this year. I have found a couple of others, but many are based in the UK and just with timing, will be hard (they will always be one day ahead of us in the USA!).  This one by Love Happy Daily appears to be the most similar to the one I participated in last year.

When was the last time you heard Zip-A-Dee-Doo-DahHow was the A to Z Challenge for you? What was your favorite (and least favorite) things about it? Do you have any leads on Blog Every Day in May or any interest in doing another challenge?

Posted in A to Z Challenge, Music
6 comments on “A to Z 2014: Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah
  1. Raquel says:

    The challenge was good. I enjoyed connecting with other bloggers & artists. What really seriously helped me was scheduling mine in advance. I spent most of April writing up my letters, then scanning them ahead of time. I don’t think I’d have lasted if I hadn’t done that. I found a fantastic challenge– 30 paintings in May. A painting a day. Which I’d love to do if I weren’t about to pack up my art supplies for 2 or more weeks for a move. 😥 Ahhh well. I’m doing JuNoWriMo in June. Hope it’s a triumphant challenge 😉

    • kborman says:

      The painting one would be hard! I would never complete a painting a day, but could do it if it was just PAINTING every day.

      Jak does NaNoWriMo every year. If I had a passion for writing a book, it would intrigue me more, but I prefer to casually write or to do poetry.

      Best of luck in your JuNoWriMo! I am sure you will do great!

  2. Bravo to you for keeping up with your daily engagement! I couldn’t do it. But, who said I can’t catch up now?

    I may do the big November one-a-day thing everyone does.

    • kborman says:

      Of course you can catch up! It got rough in the last 1.5 weeks, harder to keep reading everyone else’s, so I would spend days catching up on one blogger a day. 🙂

  3. zoe says:

    I found a to z really tough this year … I didnt get in much reading as is witnessed by catching z today… That video was part of a Disney movie that was banned in parts of the US at one time because of negative stereotypes and the thought that the civil war era could be so happy and peppy… i always associated the song with happiness and celebration like you … my kiddo grew up singing it!

    • kborman says:

      A to Z is tough! It helped that I found a few old friends to keep track of and found a few new ones, and that was all. I kept a circle of 5-6 people and didn’t branch out much further, because that was the amount I was able to do.

      Interesting to know the history around the song and video, I did not know it. I, too, associate the song with happiness.

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
