A to Z 2014: Vulnerability

(An A to Z Challenge entry)

V

I talked about Shame, but it is really hard to talk about shame without Vulnerability. I briefly talk about my struggles with vulnerability in Loyalty and Vulnerability, but my hopes for this post is to share a bit more of what vulnerability means to me.

Again, no one explains it better than Brene Brown:

Vulnerability sounds like truth and feels like courage. Truth and courage aren’t always comfortable, but they’re never weakness.” – Brene Brown

Like Brene Brown says in her video (at 15:49) those that struggle with vulnerability, we try to numb it. But we cannot selectively numb emotions. When we choose to numb the bad emotions, we also numb the good.

And I notice I do this a lot. In order to avoid disappointment, I TRY SO HARD to hide fear and disappointment and thus I avoid the emotions related to possibility — getting excited, having hope, and most importantly feeling proud to be who I am.

At 18:40, Brene talks about how we pretend that what we do doesn’t have an effect on people. And this one is a hard one for me to stomach, because I would like to believe I am thoughtful in my actions. But really, I struggle with this. And I have realized, more so over the past year, just how much my actions affect those around me. And oftentimes, I don’t realize I am doing it. I do not mean to negatively affect others, but by being caught up in my own head, I do. And I have started to notice it in two key areas.

  • Every time I interrupt someone as they speak. When this happens to me, I feel sidelined and unimportant to that person. And I have realized, when I do it to others, they are likely feeling the same emotions. I don’t want to do that anymore. But this doesn’t come easy for me. I need to practice on being a better active listener.
  • How hard it is for me to speak the truth out loud, and the courage to do so. I have gotten a ton better at this, but it takes a lot of courage. It’s not that I have anything to hide, it is just the acting of admitting I made a mistake is so hard for me to accept.  It could be a little mistake, and maybe even an unintentional mistake. It could even just be me being open and honest about my emotions and how I feel. I am a perfectionist — and as I talked about with Shame, shame lives off of perfectionism. It eats us up and tears us apart.

If I have negatively affected you in any of the two ways. Know I know, and that I am sorry. I am working to be better. I want to be better, and I want you to know that you are important to me.

At 19:06, Brene tells us another way:“To let ourselves be seen. Deeply seen. Vulnerably seen. To love with our whole hearts, even though there is no guarantee.”

And most importantly, to believe: “I am enough.”

Have you ever heard about or familiar with Brene Brown’s vulnerability work? What does vulnerability mean to you?

 

Posted in A to Z Challenge, Learning, Struggles
2 comments on “A to Z 2014: Vulnerability
  1. I admire and relate to your self-examination. And so much this: “[I] hide fear and disappointment and thus I avoid the emotions related to possibility — getting excited, having hope…”

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
