A to Z 2014: Unknown

(An A to Z Challenge entry)

U

Some of the wisest quotes and sayings are by authors we do not know. But that, of course, doesn’t make them any less valid or important. So in this post, I am sharing some of the great ones I have come across — to give these unknown voices another chance to inspire, motivate and encourage all those who read. And if by chance, you know the author of the quotes, by all means share it! Let’s finally give some credit to these wise words.

“You are a master of the words you don’t say and a slave to the ones you do.” – Unknown

“Never be afraid to try something new. Remember: An amateur built the Ark–professionals built the Titanic.”- Unknown

“You may only be someone in the world, but to someone else, you may be the world.” – Unknown

“We cannot wait for the storm to pass over – we must learn to dance in the rain.” – Unknown

“We could learn a lot from crayons; some are sharp, some are pretty, some are dull, while others bright, some have weird names, but they all have learned to live together in the same box.”- Unknown

“Snowflakes are one of nature’s most fragile things, but just look at what they can do when they stick together.”- Unknown

“Remember that silence is sometimes the best answer.” ~ Unknown

“When it rains, most birds head for shelter; the Eagle is the only bird that, in order to avoid the rain, starts flying above the cloud.”- Unknown

“Never get tired of doing little things for others. Sometimes, those little things occupy the biggest part of their hearts.”- Unknown

“It is lack of love for ourselves that inhibits our compassion toward others. If we make friends with ourselves, then there is no obstacle to opening our hearts and minds to others.” – Unknown

“A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart and sings it back to you when you have forgotten how it goes.” – Unknown

I love coming across quotes, and I read them all the time. At work, I provide a weekly inspirational quote to my coworkers, and it has become of my their favorite things I do.

What are some other quotes you have come across by unknown authors?

Posted in A to Z Challenge, Inspiration
5 comments on “A to Z 2014: Unknown
  1. Raquel says:

    I suppose my favorite unknown quotations are proverbs. Especially old Irish ones, they’re so whimsical.

    I read a cool one as I was getting my last tattoo. “Lions don’t lose sleep over the opinions of sheep.”

  2. kborman says:

    That makes a lot of sense. I used to have a few others that I considered favorites, but then by identifying them as such, someone identified the author for me. One used to be “Everyone smiles in the same language” but then a friend told me that George Carlin said that one!

    I love the lions and sheep one. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Raquel says:

    That just happened to me! I love the quote “If you go home with someone, and they don’t have books, don’t f**k them.” I had no idea who said it until a friend told me it was John Waters.

    After I posted I remembered a favorite Irish proverb. “Ask the wild bee what the Druids knew.”

  4. Jak Cryton says:

    I love me some quotes! Personally, out of the above, I like the first two and last two. For some reason I thought that first one sounded really familiar, though.
    I’m not exactly sure how many uncredited quotes I know, especially off the top of my head. I’m very prone to movie quotes, as you know lol
    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
