A to Z 2014: Quagmire

(An A to Z 2014 Challenge entry)

Q

A quagmire (noun) is a soft wet area of low-lying land that sinks underfoot.

Quicksand swells
Under my
Ankles and
Grabs between
My toes.
Immediately I
Reach for
Every thing.

I was originally going to write a poem about quicksand, but in my quest for another “Q” word, QUAGMIRE quickly required my attention in its purest quintessence. I can be quite sure that I was not aware of what quagmire meant before this letter challenge.

Have you learned any new words while doing any research for this challenge? 

Posted in A to Z Challenge, Poetry
4 comments on “A to Z 2014: Quagmire
  1. “Immediately I reach for every thing…” Somehow, that has so much meaning to me.

  2. Jak Cryton says:

    Very nice. I never use this word, but I like it 🙂 I think most of the words I’ve been learning have come from your same letter poems.

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
