A to Z 2014: Painting

(AN A to Z 2014 Challenge entry)

P

P is for painting. I started painting when I was in high school. In college I minored in Studio Arts. I took advanced painting three times for credit because I just wanted to keep painting every day.

I have sold a handful of paintings over the years. One to my college for their permanent collection. One to a former coworker. Another to a friend. I have given away a number of pieces to friends and family as presents. To me, painting has never been about the money. Painting is my zen. If I am stressed, I can simply just pick up a paintbrush and mix paints to calm my nerves. The act instantly makes me happy and content, and the final product is just a nice perk.

I hadn’t painted in a while and then a friend chose to do one of those Wine & Canvas events for her birthday. I admit, at first I was like, man I am overpaying a company to do something that I can do at my house by myself, but actually it was a lot of fun. (Still think that the price should include a drink and not as another out of pocket expense.) In this class, a painter takes you through the steps to complete a painting. I got there a half hour late because Mother Nature decided to dump 6+ inches of a mid-April snowstorm. Being that I paint all the time, I was able to catch up in just a couple of minutes.

The painting we were completing was one called Northern Lights. Here is an in-progress shot:

Northern lights

And here is the final product with all of our works of art:

wine and canvas group


I thought I would also use this post as an opportunity to share some of my other works.

While I haven’t been painting in the last couple of months, below is my most recent WIP (and it still is a WIP). This WIP taken outside the gates of a kasbah (the Moroccan equivalent of gated community). I originally completed the painting in college as one of my assignments. I admit, it was the last in a series and I was running out of steam and time to get it done. And since then, I haven’t been remotely satisfied with it (we all always our worst critics, amiright?!)

original

This was what the painting looked like before I overhauled it. It was a painting I did in college, but I was never satisfied with how it turned out.

This photo collage shows the stages of transformation.

This photo collage shows the stages of transformation.

And this is where the piece currently is. I have some more fine details to fill in and I still need to figure out what sort of design or texture I want to include on the top of the building.

And this is where the piece currently is. I have some more fine details to fill in and I still need to figure out what sort of design or texture I want to include on the top of the building.

Here is an acrylic painting that I did in high school and has been transformed more times than I can count. It is a piece where if I need to try new ideas or simply unsure what to start, I turn to this piece and let it take on a new form.

Fire

Fire

And now for some finished works of art and will be a part of my permanent collection (pieces that I personally will never sell unless someone is somehow able to convince me otherwise.)

Welcome to my Moroccan Kasbah

“Welcome to my Mococcan Kasbah”. Like my WIP, this was inspired from my study aboard trip to Morocco. The WIP is taken outside the gates of a kasbah almost the Moroccan equivalent of gated community, and this one is of the wall on the inside.

 

My Hand in Yours

This is a painting inspired from a photograph I found inside an old Seventeen magazine from middle school. The photograph spoke a thousand words to me, and this painting exemplifies community – that we are all here to help one another out, we are all one in the same. It is titled “My Hand in Yours.”


 

Have you ever participated in a Wine & Canvas event or something similar? Do you have an outlet for creative passions? If so, have you ever completely overhauled a work because you simply were not satisfied with it?

Posted in A to Z Challenge, Painting
9 comments on “A to Z 2014: Painting
  1. I love paintings, only wish I could paint : ( Great art work! Great blog post!

    • kborman says:

      I might recommend that you try one of those events if you have one in your area. Most of the people I went with do not paint, and all of their works turned out great. It is a good way to get your feet wet!

      Thank you for your kind words.

  2. Keep on painting your work is GORGEOUS ! #AtoZchallenge ☮Peace ☮ ღ ONE ℒℴνℯ ღ ☼ Light ☼ visiting from http://4covert2overt.blogspot.com/

  3. Raquel says:

    Really lovely and beautiful work. I love that you are fearless enough to rework paintings. I am mostly tempted to throw them away and start anew.

    • kborman says:

      Thank you. I took a bookmaking class in college, and for one of the projects, I actually cut up a bunch of my drawings and re-purposed them in this book. Whenver I show someone who is not artistically inclined, they look at me with such dismay on why on earth would I ever butcher my drawings. My theory was, now this art lives in a permanent place. Most of those drawings were 20×30 and there was no way I was going to frame them. This way they live on in their own way.

  4. Jak Cryton says:

    I love “My Hand in Yours” as you know. I am excited for you to get back to your WIPs, I know it’s been a long time, and that never leaves you with a good feeling.

    I am not sure I could do the painting over of older pieces of work. I’d be more prone to go the route Raquel stated. Actually, I would probably save them, but just hide them away, never to see the day of light.

    The wine and painting events are nice, but like you said, it’s paying for something you could technically be doing for a fraction of the price at home. The social aspect is a large factor in those types of gatherings, though. I’m not sure if I would follow along with the instructor, or just paint complete randomness during my time.

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    • kborman says:

      I am excited for us to create our own office space so we can spend time in our own creative endeavors!

      Going over a painting is not much difference than editing a fiction piece. You take what you have, scrap the parts you don’t like and rework it into a better piece.

      The wine and canvas events are good for social groups and maybe once and a while, but as you can see, I have had no place to put my work, so it hangs out in the back of my trunk. Some how it feels like it has less value because it isn’t a work that I originated, ya know?

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
