A to Z 2014: M&M Art

(An A to Z 2014 Challenge entry)

M

This is a snapshot of an art series created solely from snack size plain M&M packages taken only while I am at work. Based off the number of M&Ms and the color distribution, I create art, take a picture with my cell phone, and then share them on Instagram and Facebook with the hash tag #mnmart. As you can see, the first few show that I used to simply sort by color, and as you proceed, you can see how my art has progressed. Once all done, I consume my art, starting with the color that has the most and ending with the color with the least number.


Have you ever created art out of something ordinary like candy? Do you see opportunities for art where others may not?

Posted in A to Z Challenge, M&M Art
5 comments on “A to Z 2014: M&M Art
  1. Jak Cryton says:

    GAH! This is seriously one underrated, and under-commented, post! I love your M&M art 🙂 You know how I feel about it, and what I think you should do with it. Looking forward to when you finally make those transitions. Going to be a lot of work… and long… mainly due to Big Bertha giving you attitude.
    I like seeing how your art progressed over time.
    I don’t think I ever recall your method of eating them afterwards.
    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    • kborman says:

      I knew you would like this post, even if it wasn’t as robust as I originally intended it to be,

      I have high hopes for this series some day. On a personal website for sure, but I also have grand ideas brewing in my head for what it would look like in an art show.

      Ah yes, how I eat the art afterwards is a very integral part of the equation! 🙂

  2. Raquel says:

    Love this! I have done similar things when I had a retail job. I made folding denim jeans into an art form. It became one of my favorite tasks. I haven’t done anything this fun before though, or this tasty. Sculpture out of coffee beans and rocks, yes… but not candy, not yet.

    • kborman says:

      Aww, thanks, I started it and shared it on Facebook and soon enough I got a crowd of people who really enjoyed them, and would miss them when I didn’t post. So then it became a thing. Who knew there would be a M&M art cult? 😉

      I highly recommend edible installation art. It serves for dual purposes!

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
