A to Z 2014: Hair

(An A to Z Challenge Entry)

H

Many people are often jealous of my curly hair, or even just the fact that I don’t have to do anything for it to curl. But sometimes it can get a bit crazy, some days it looks phenomenal, but most days it is just ‘meh.’

I will warn you, some of these photos may be a bit crazy too, but please, focus on the hair.

When my hair is crazy, more often than not, I pull it back. But sometimes, I just roll with it.

Examples of crazy hair days:

crazy hair 3

Example of big hair.

crazy hair 2

Even when pulled back, it is hard to tame.

crazy hair

This is probably the best yet. Exhibit A after hair getting wet while out on a snowy night.

But some days, my hair turns out really good! (Granted, this is when I actually put some effort in it, or someone else does.)

Examples of great hair days:

good hair 4

I doubt I did much to this, but am certain this was taken not long after I got my hair cut and colored.

good hair 3

Night on the town.

good hair 2

I love how my hair looks after going to the salon!

But on most days, my hair tackles a little bit of good and crazy.

Examples of normal hair days:

normal hair day

How my hair looks mid-day.

normal hair 4

A typical pulled back look.

normal hair 3

This example is a bit crazy, a bit good. But this is what my hair looks like when all I do is shower and let it air dry (on the good days).

I don’t put much attention to my hair. I average 2 haircuts a year. I shower every other day with a simple Herbal Essence shampoo and conditioner and I ALWAYS let it air dry. Some days I use a little Moroccan oil, most days I don’t. I never like to fuss over my hair and have just learned to let it do what it wants.

Though, I have let my hair go a bit longer without a hair cut this time around. It’s been over a year, but thankfully that will be fixed on Saturday. I am also thinking I want to color it. I do love when it is so dark with a hint of red. That might call my name.

My favorite and best hair lesson I ever got was from my mom. She is a breast cancer survivor, but back when she was receiving radiation and chemo, she lost all of her hair. When I used to (and even now) complain about a bad hair day, her first response always is/was, “A bad hair day is better than a no hair day!”

And I leave you with that.

How about you? What are some of your favorite hair stories? What do you do when your hair day cannot be saved?

Posted in A to Z Challenge
4 comments on “A to Z 2014: Hair
  1. Oh, Kate, WE HAVE THE SAME HAIR! I used to complain about it a lot, but when I dodged the chemo bullet and, thus, didn’t lose mine, I vowed never to complain about it again. If the weather gods cooperate, I can straighten it. If they don’t, then it’s wildly curly, sometimes frizzy, but attached to my head!

    • kborman says:

      HAIR TWINS! I am glad you got to keep your hair! I know when my mom’s grew back it was much different than before. Much thinner and very gray.

      I actually love my hair best in the summer when the weather gods bring me the humidity. In winter, yeah, it because a frizzy mess, so it gets pulled back a lot.

      Last weekend I got my hair cut and Jak saw it blown out and straightened, probably first time ever. Since then, I told him I would straighten it for him again soon. (Thankfully my curls are deceiving — my hair is very thin and fine, so to actually straighten it, it goes suuuuuper fast. My hairdresser loves it.)

  2. Jak Cryton says:

    You definitely have some crazy hair days. I can have them too, but no where near the extent you do.
    I am in agreement with your mother. While I know I’m heading towards those “no hair days”, I can’t help but hope they are still far far off…
    I really like how your hair turned out this weekend!
    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    • kborman says:

      Hahaha, it can get crazy at times. I do really like my mom’s motto too. That’s okay, some day I will have really crazy gray hair. Thanks babes.

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
