A to Z 2014: Crooks Cuddles

(An A to Z 2014 Challenge Entry)C

 

As I mentioned in A to Z 2014: Ace, I have only had one pet my entire life. But in more recent months, I have had a new furry friend enter my life.

Meet Crooks (and his cuddles):

Crooks cuddles

Crooks hasn’t always been so cuddly with me. It took us a while for us to get this point. He had his reservations, and why wouldn’t he? I was the new girl entering his and Jak’s lives. And he is very protective of Jak.

And let’s be real, I had my reservations about him too. You see, I am (and most of my family is) allergic to cats, and I had a bad childhood experience with my aunt and uncle’s cat growing up.  So I have kept my safe distance from them for most of my life. Post college, several of my friends had cats. Some I could tolerate and eventually built immunity to, and some to this day I cannot stay in the same room with them for longer than an hour. But I hadn’t been seeing any of those cats when I met Crooks. So yes, in my first few months getting to know Crooks, I did have my reservations.

But here is the amazing thing. I am not allergic to Crooks at all. In fact, I may have had the most minimal symptoms I have ever had in first meeting a cat. Maybe some minor eye watering and scratchy nose, but that faded nearly after a week of visits.

The reason why I am focusing this post on Crooks’s cuddles is because that is when we actually bond. He is cordial to me during the day, but Jak takes high priority during the awake hours. In fact, oftentimes Crooks makes a point to nudge me just so he can walk over me, to use me like a bridge, to get to Jak.

For a while I took a slight offense, but you see, Crooks and I have our special cuddle time every single night before I go to sleep. Whether on the couch, like the above picture, or as I lay down to sleep in bed, he crawls onto my tummy and curls up for pets and cuddles. It usually lasts for about ten minutes before he finds his place next to my feet. But it is without fail, every single night. I think Crooks understood me last night when I told him I was going to write the ” post about his cuddles, because last night he intensified our cuddle session. He gave me three head nuzzles and stayed a little bit longer than usual before slowly sliding off to cuddle in my arms and eventually move down toward my feet.

 

crooks

A HD photo of Crooks’s beauty.

To top it all off, most recently (in the past two weeks or so) Crooks has added cuddle time to my mornings. Right before or shortly after my first alarm goes off, Crooks has crawled onto my tummy for some pets and cuddles for about five minutes to wake me up. This morning Jak even witnessed the morning cuddles. Let’s just say, I could get used to waking up in this fashion!

Have you ever made a connection with a  friend’s or lover’s pet that you never expect you would? 

Posted in A to Z Challenge
11 comments on “A to Z 2014: Crooks Cuddles
  1. Ha, like I said in my post, C is always for cats. (As is mine.) That Crooks used your body as a “bridge” and that he deigned offer you more and more cuddle time — so true to a feline nature!

  2. Jak Cryton says:

    Awwww I really like that picture. He looks ginormous lol

    I’m glad you had very minimal, if any, allergic reactions to him. Sometimes allergies to cats and dogs can be quite violent. The bonding process has been slow, but important, and is continually growing.

    Don’t worry, a lot of the attention I get is him demanding more food or to clean his litter box.

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    • kborman says:

      Well babes, he looks ginormous.. well because… he is.
      (shh, don’t you dare tell him that! It is his rotundness that makes Crooks him.)

      I do love this flourishing frienshipship/bond we are having — and I hope you are taking note! You always said that you knew your girlfriends were or weren’t keepers based off how Crooks responded to them.

      He is pretty needy in those departments, but he also just loves his Jak as much as I do. 🙂

  3. Ruby says:

    A couple years ago I was immobile for 2 months from a surgery and my cat, who preferred my husband and always ran from me, barely left my side. Ever since our bonding time we’re inseparable (as long as my husband isn’t around). My other cat though curls up and sleeps by my side every night. She starts at my feet and by morning she is snuggled up by head. I love it!

  4. I love that Crooks uses you as a bridge to get to Jak! Our cats do that to us all the time; the grass is always greener and all.

    My husband was allergic to cats all his life (or so he says – I think it’s just that his parents convinced him he was because they both hated cats, but I digress). When we met, I told him I would never get rid of them, and if we were going to get married, he would just have to get allergy shots or something. When we did marry, I brought along my 2 year old cat, Helen, and he became desensitized or whatever and now has no problem with cats. Which is a good thing, because I’m a lousy housekeeper and never seem to be able to keep up with the cat hair on the floor!

    • kborman says:

      I love the whole idea of “you better get allergy shots or else” mentality. Pretty sure Jak told me the exact same thing, that he wasn’t getting rid of Crooks if I had an allergy. Actually, I think it once did happen for him in the past.

      • Jak Cryton says:

        I wasn’t going to bring it up, but since you did, yes, it has indeed happened in the past. The girl at the time was very persistent, while being extremely allergic to Crooks, but in the end wasn’t wanting to take medication. I had no issue with that, and completely understood. She, however, was mortified I was so understanding and okay with the course of action taking place.

        Women are weird…

  5. kborman says:

    She was probably just THAT into you. And from a female perspective, I understand why. You’re a catch. But I am thankful for it all, because now you’re my catch. 😉

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
