A to Z 2014: Ace

(An A to Z 2014 Challenge Entry)A

Ace.

Let me introduce you to Ace. But for those closest to him, he was Ace Lucky Bingo.

Ace was my childhood dog. We got him in the spring of 1991 when I was 5, and we put him down just three weeks after my junior year of college, when I was 21.

I remember the day we went to go pick up our new puppy. Ace was the only white half Schnauzer/ half Bichon  in the mix of his black brothers and sisters. He wasn’t the one that I originally picked out, but since I was the youngest (and in minority vote) I lost. I remember being bummed, and then as a young child, I remember also being disappointed and shameful of myself for wanting one of the other ones.

But soon enough, none of that mattered. You see, as we were picking out this little white puppy from the breeder, we quickly discovered the reason that made him perfect for our family. The reason in which he got his name (short version and long version). Ace was born on the exact day my grandmother died: February 18, 1991.

Match made in heaven, and thus his name: incorporating cards and bingo all in one; two of my grandma’s favorite pastimes.

I don’t have any photos handy — all the ones I have are photographs and not on me. But Ace looked nearly identical to this dog as a young pup.

Chonzer

It’s amazing how similar this puppy looks like Ace did as a puppy.

Ace survived the infamous Halloween blizzard of ’91, in my dad’s arms as he walked us kids to a couple of neighbor’s houses to trick or treat. And he survived running away a few times. And he survived the many, many years of three kids dressing him up in adult clothes.

As I aged, Ace aged with me. Throughout elementary and high school, Ace ate breakfast with me every day, at the table, sitting in a chair next to me. This was about as cuddly he would get, but still a favorite memory. Not a particularly a snuggle bug, but he showed his affection in his own way, especially as he aged.

This dog looks similar to Ace when he was older and when his fur was long.

This dog looks similar to Ace when he was older and when his fur was long.

He was and has been my only pet. 16 years was most of my childhood and part of my adult hood. Even though he has been gone now for seven years, nearly half as long as his life, some days I still really miss him.

Did you have a childhood pet as a kid? If so, what are some of your favorite memories with your pet?

Posted in A to Z Challenge, Memories
8 comments on “A to Z 2014: Ace
  1. Jak Cryton says:

    Muahahaha I’ve already given you crap, but still reading those first lines crack me up. I will forever hear Morgan Freeman narrating them in some fashion.

    “Ace was a good pet, and lived a good life. We got him in the Spring of ’91 when I was 5. Then he was dead in 2001, just after my junior year of college. The End…”

    Sounds like Ace was a great pet, and one meant to be! I think it would be sweet to have a pet sit on a chair at the table to eat with. I’ve probably heard more Ace tales than most. I’m sure the entire family misses him still to this day. Pets like that have a way to permanently etching themselves into someone’s memory.

    I have had many pets (mainly cats) I’ve remembered throughout the years. The most significant one (beyond Crooks) being Gizmo. He was one bad ass kitty.

    Glad you decided to give this A to Z a go!

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    • kborman says:

      I wonder just how much Morgan Freeman charges per word. Let me tell you, Ace’s life story (in your words) would be worth every penny.

      Gizmo! I have heard you talk about him a few times, and from the sounds of it, was an awesome cat. I personally love that Crooks is quickly filling the place of my second ever pet, considering in many ways, I think Ace and Crooks share some commonalities in personality. Both have their routines, both eat at the same time as the owner, both only cuddly when they want to be.

  2. “Ace and the Infamous Halloween Blizzard,” what a great title that would make for some kids’ zany adventure book!

  3. kborman says:

    It would be! I have always had the aspirations to write and illustrate children’s books. Maybe that would be a good place to start! Thanks for swinging by!

  4. Ruby says:

    Great post. 🙂 He seems like the perfect dog to grow up with!

  5. […] I mentioned in A to Z 2014: Ace, I have only had one pet my entire life. But in more recent months, I have had a new furry friend […]

  6. […] got our dog Ace, who was born on the day my grandma died. And in many ways, she lived with us for another 16 […]

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
