Ten Things of Thankful – Week Sixteen

For some reason, I am having a terrible time remembering this week besides Halloween and cooking good food. Let’s see how this list comes about.

050fc-tenthingsbanner

  1. Suffering from the symptoms of a bare-boned kitchen, I spent Tuesday evening grocery shopping — mostly getting the essentials — and then spending much of the evening cooking meals for Jak and I to eat for the rest of the week.
  2. At work, I completed my second video project. This time, I learned how to fast forward or slow down video clips. Shared it with the staff and it was a hit.
  3. Holy Halloween! At work, I showed up starving on Thursday, running close to the time for my weekly meeting with my boss and afterwards, we had a staff meeting. When I walked into our conference room, I saw there were pastries from our favorite bakery with coffee and juice!
  4. As we were sitting down, my coworker brought out a Halloween game. It was a covered basket full of tricks and treats. We had to put our hand in the basket (without peeking!) and grab something. The basket was filled with candy and items of all different textures. The afterwards, she let us pick a prize we really wanted. Below is what I grabbed initially — because it was so fuzzy!

    I am pretty sure the last time I had a snap bracelet was when I was eight years old.

    I am pretty sure the last time I had a snap bracelet was when I was eight years old!

  5. On Halloween night, I spent the night with Superman, Pirate Owen, Pirate Carina and a married Rapunzel. (She was wearing a white dress, so duh, guys, she is married! :P)
    halloween 2013
  6.  I got to witness my niece Carina blossom Halloween night. Often when she is out of her own environment, she keeps to herself. But Halloween night, she was so talkative and we had a few bonding moments. Of my munchkins, she is the one that I have the least connection with, so to share these memories with her were priceless. It was adorable. 
  7. On Friday, one coworker invited our staff to join her for lunch to support  a local neighborhood fundraiser. It was an event called Empty Bowls. At the event, you pay a donation, pick out your own pottery bowl out of a selection of handmade donated artist pieces. You then take your selected bowl, get it washed and then get in line for a soup lunch. It was awesome that we had seven coworkers show up to support a local cause. All the proceeds go to support 4 nonprofits in the area. Last year, they raised $29,000 for this one day lunch event alone. So cool!
  8.  Friday night, Jak and I tried out a new Thai restaurant. He had been to this place before, once upon a time at a different location, but it was a new place for me. The food was really good, the service was very attentive and it was fun to have a date night. Though the one hiccup was that we think they may have overcharged us. We planned to call in and ask, but the night slipped away. I suppose we could still do so… in a much more conspicuous manner.
  9.  So, I won’t go into the details of this story that Jak will dive into at some point, I am sure, but at 4:30 a.m., Jak’s barely living car was hit in a hit and run accident. Long story short, we eventually found the culprit not that far away in the neighborhood, took pictures and then called the cops. Both cars are destroyed. By 6 or 7 a.m., the cop who helped us, called Jak back to tell him he got their insurance information and charged them with a hit and run ticket. I am thankful that no one was in the car and injured, and that we were able to find the person who committed the wrong.
  10.  This evening we went to hang out with Jak’s friends for a write-in while they all participate in NaNoWriMo. I am not participating this year, but it is/was good to hang out (am here right now). I am pretty quiet and don’t talk much, but that is to be expected until you get to know people better. I am thankful we can  and want to share each other with our friends. That hasn’t always been the case for me in previous relationships.

What are you thankful for this year?

Posted in Cooking, Family, Thankfulness
16 comments on “Ten Things of Thankful – Week Sixteen
  1. Sorry about the car but glad the culprit was found & no one was injured. I LOVE Thai food!

  2. Kristi says:

    Wow, this is the second post I’ve read this week about a car accident. I’m glad no one was hurt, and I hope that the insurance settles in a timely and fair manner.

  3. skipcote says:

    wow you did pretty well for not remembering the week. But then again it sounds like a pretty memorable week. Glad you got the car accident straightened out that’s miserable. I was the kind of kid your niece is. So sweet and she is coming out of her shell.

    • kborman says:

      Yes, I hope everything works out and that there will be some more silver linings (the name of Jak’s car apparently!)

      My niece and I are actually very similar, but haven’t really had “that connection” yet. Glad to see she is opening up, too. In our family, we call her the silent assassin because she is so quiet and sneaky—-we gotta keep an eye on that one!

  4. Looks like you’ve had a relaxing weekend! Thanks for sharing it with us!

  5. Whoa! I’m glad no-one was hurt in the accident! And perhaps this is a way for Jak’s car to finally get replaced with one which works! A weird twist, but perhaps a useful one.

    The trick or treating looks like SO much fun 🙂 Those are gorgeous photographs of the outfits.

    And YAY for your co-worker’s good idea to brighten up the day. What a lovely thing to do.

    • kborman says:

      Weird twist indeed, but we were thinking the exact same thing. Maybe, just maybe, he might get more money this way.

      Loved trick or treating with the kiddos. ‘Twas much fun, and yes, my co-workers rock!

  6. god, I love ‘weird twists’ (as Lizzi says above).
    Went to ‘the youtue’ link item #2… very cool!

    (I can, kind of identify with you in making a statement like ‘terrible time remembering this week’ and simultaneously agree with zoe on her comment.) must be a clark thing.

    enjoyed the Post

    • kborman says:

      Yes, Jak and I were both like, maybe this is a weird twist of fate that might actually work!

      I do recall reading your terrible memory once or twice before…hmm… the ladies are right when they say Clark rubs off on us.

  7. So you and Jak went all P.I. and found the hit and run car – that’s awesome! I do hope Jak gets a car out of all of this.

    Your nieces and nephews look darling! Halloween is for little kids, and I get so tired of all the high school age kids that come to trick or treat.

    Always good to find great Thai food!

    Your video looked great! I’m sure your office staff and supervisors are pleased with your work.

    Did you keep the furry snap bracelet or upgrade for something else?

    • kborman says:

      Hopefully Jak will get a car, or at the very least more money than he would for junking it.

      They are adorable indeed. I agree Halloween is for kids and high schoolers need to just go to their own parties/dances. The best trick and treaters come from 5 pm – 8 pm, and then after that, pfffft, best option is to shut off the lights and got to bed.

      Thanks, I thought the video turns out good too. I enjoy creating it!

      Oh man, I totally kept the snap bracelet. We didn’t have to trade, we got the first option and then got to choose a second one –to which I took my favorite candy bar, a Kit Kat.

  8. christine says:

    As soon as I read about Jak’s car I thought, “Hey! He may get a working vehicle after all!” I hope that works out for him. I can’t believe you found the car. I can’t wait to hear the details from Jak. So many questions!
    Glad you got to spend Halloween with the nieces and nephews. It is so fun to see young kids go trick-or-treating.
    Your office sounds like a fun place to work. There’s always pranks or games going on!

    • kborman says:

      I told Jak that you have many questions waiting for him and he laughed and said, “nice!” He is busy, writing novels and all, so his story may be delayed, but regardless of when it comes up, I know he will not let you down!

      Yes, I am very fortunate and thankful to have a fun workplace with great co-workers. We work hard but also know how to play hard too. 🙂

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
