Ten Things of Thankful – Week Eleven

This week was not as much fun for me, considering I kicked off the week sick with a bad head cold and missed a couple of days of work. But other than feeling yucky, the week was fairly uneventful. Cutting it close on time, so I better hop to this blog hop.

050fc-tenthingsbanner

  1. I am thankful that I have an amazing boyfriend who takes care of me when I am sick. Due to a nasty head cold, I stayed home from work two days this week, and he was there to make sure I was as comfortable and well-fed as possible. He took care of me and I think because he did so, my cold was short-lived.
  2. I presented two tasks I have been working on to my co-workers at work this week and both were well received. It was nice to know my hard work has paid off. Below is the video I shot and edited for work.
  3. That by Wednesday night, I was starting to feel better and was able to bake some chocolate chip cookies to share with Jak and my co-workers. These too, were also well-received.
  4. I got to help Jak pick out some nice dress clothes for a wedding this weekend. It was fun to help him — and let me tell you, he cleans up very well. He was a stud Saturday night!
  5. I was asked to be a panelist for a training in December. This will be my first professional speaking engagement. I am quite nervous but am also very honored to be seen as someone who is knowledgeable on the topic.
  6. Thunderstorms! On Thursday there was a fun thunderstorm that happened while at work. The skies turned wickedly dark and we have an office full of windows. It made some of my coworkers nervous, but I beamed ear to ear with delight.
  7. Good home cooking and leftovers. I made some homemade stir fry from my farmer’s market veggies and tonight I made enchiladas.
  8. Going to Jak’s friends’ wedding on Saturday night. I really liked the location and content of the ceremony, and I was able to meet several of Jak’s friends at the reception. I was rather quiet and shy, but they all seemed very nice and fun and quirky. People I certainly wouldn’t mind hanging out with more and getting to know better.
  9. Smooches! One of my favorite things to do is to smooch my man. And we have gotten to the point where we know when one of us is not smooching for real. Usually an indication that something is bothering us. I love that our connection runs as deep as us knowing each other’s kisses.
  10. Good deals! I made a Target run this weekend and I scored two summer shirts on clearance for $6.70. A girl can’t complain about that!

Have you ever spoken on a panel or given a speech/public presentation? If so, do you have any tips?

Posted in Cooking, Thankfulness
8 comments on “Ten Things of Thankful – Week Eleven
  1. Jak says:

    It was no problem to help take care of you. You are a pretty hospitable sick person. Just wait until I get sick… Bad News Bears.

    I loved the chocolate chip cookies, especially heated and broken up into jamocha shakes! All sorts of wrong.

    I really like your editing work on the video and am glad your co-workers enjoyed it. Maybe now they will not postpone making new videos and you can get even more training/practice in!

    Was glad you were able to attend the wedding. For a long while I was pretty sure no +1s would have been allowed, but considering we have been dating for so long, I’d imagine I could have swung it somehow. Sometimes I can be influential.

    I’m not a stud lol >.<

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

  2. christine says:

    So sorry you were sick, but how nice that you had a certain someone to nurse you through it, regardless of his stud status. 🙂
    Sounds like work is going very well for you! Good luck with the speaking gig. I’ve never been on a panel, but I’ve certainly spoken to large groups of people. Relax, know your material, and don’t read to the audience. And try to enjoy yourself.
    I love a good end of season sale! I need to get out there and look for some clothes for next year.

    • kborman says:

      Thanks for the tips/tricks. I am such an introvert that these sorts of things get my nerves and anxiety to kick in. I will just have to channel my former life when I used to do theater.

      Yes, I hope to score some more cheap end of season sales on clothes and shoes soon! The nice things about summer shirts, is that you can layer them nicely with sweaters.

  3. Kristi says:

    Congratulations on your speaking assignment. What helps my nerves when speaking to a group of people is to realize that it really has nothing to do with me; I’ve just been asked to convey a message. The topic is what is important. If I can put aside my feelings and focus on helping the audience understand, the presentation usually goes fine.

  4. Hey, glad you’re better and you got looked after. There’s something really nice about having someone to at least *try* to make it all better for you.

    The wedding sounds like fun! And now you have Official Girlfriend Status, you can get Jak to ensure that he maintains his new ‘stud’ status with the addition of more sharp clothes! 😉 I’m glad you guys had an awesome time, even if you felt shy at first.

    Good for you for baking your man some cookies 🙂

    • kborman says:

      Ahh the perks of being his ladyfolk!*

      I feel 100% today. I kept having some weird lingering sickness stuff into the weekend, that didn’t appear to be cold related, but mostly just threw my body out of whack. I think though, most of that is in the past.

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

      *Just for you, Jak.

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
