Ten Things of Thankful – Week Nine

This week is one of the best weeks I have had in a long, long time. I have so much to be thankful for, that the hardest part will be keeping the list to ten. But I will try my best to do so.

050fc-tenthingsbanner

  1. To start off the week, I had a wonderful holiday, spending it with Jak. We went to his brother’s house where I met several of his family members, including his two adorable nieces. After we went to his grandma’s house to watch Under the Dome. It was nice to have the day off and spend it with someone I care immensely for.
  2. On Monday night, I told Jak that I would have to figure out a meal to have at work the next day since I hadn’t been home to cook much. To my surprise, I woke up to this Tuesday morning. My heart melt and I couldn’t wait to share his sweet romantic gesture with all of you.
    lunch
  3. For those who cannot read the note, he asked me to be his girlfriend, so now we are official and I couldn’t be happier about it. I am thankful that we have been able to pull through the rough spots and become a better, stronger couple because of it.
  4. At work, we take birthdays seriously. Since mine was this week (September 7), my coworkers got me this awesome card and two cakes and fresh watermelon!! They got both a strawberry shortcake and a chocolate cake.  I mean, who can argue with yummy treats and a card that has pets AND paint on it?!
    bday card
  5. I am thankful that I was able to get some painting in this week. I haven’t been making the time for it, when in reality, it should be what I dedicate my free time to. Here is a picture that shows the evolution of my current painting. The photo in the upper left hand corner is its current status.
  6. Birthday celebrations and all of the nice cads and gifts I got from my friends and family. A girl couldn’t ask for better loved ones. This is the card my niece Mia made for me. On the inside she traced her hands and drew a smiley in the middle.
    mia card
  7. That Jak came to my family birthday celebrations. I am not sure he will ever fully realize how much this means to me. I have never dated a guy who has been so willing to meet the family, despite it being nerve-wracking to do so. He put on his brave face and was there to support me. And besides, he was able to meet Mia. Another reason I know Jak is a keeper? He and I value familial relationships in the same way: first and foremost. Not only does he get it, but he was there to create and share those memories with me.
  8. Coupons and deals! I am thankful that the place I chose to host my birthday celebration with friends was offering a deal. Between that deal and a friend who offered to pay for my meal, we walked out of the bar that night with extra cash and full tummies.
  9. Date day. After a busy weekend of friends and family, Jak and I were able to sleep in and take the day at a more leisurely pace with brunch, a movie, shopping and cuddles. What more could a girl ask for?
  10. Speaking of shopping, my birthday present to myself (with help with my parents’ birthday gift card) I bought a brand new Samsung Chromebook. This is the beauty I am currently typing on. I am loving how light and portable it is. It will be a perfect addition to take with my on the go – to Jak’s, to coffee shops, while travelling out and about, and when I simply just want to stream Amazon Prime from the comfort of my own bed.
Posted in Family, Happiness, Painting, Passion, Thankfulness
12 comments on “Ten Things of Thankful – Week Nine
  1. wait a minute!! if you are just typing…on the computer above…why can I still see it??!! I thought so! this is a trap, isn’t it?! some kind of infinite regression setup!! I know ( and no! I will not look up at the screen in front of me…*thats* exactly what you hope I’ll do!! and then I’ll see …and then I’ll….
    ha! got away!
    HB good Ts see you next week!

    (Tell Jak he still needs to submit his TToT!)

  2. That’s a super list, and I’m so happy for you and Jak, and for your birthday, and all the wonderfulness you’ve both enjoyed this week. Absolutely super, super news and lovely to be able to read about 🙂

  3. christine says:

    Happy Birthday!! What a wonderful week of birthday celebrations.
    Nice computer!
    And glad to hear you and Jak are happy. (For some reason, the photos won’t come up for me to see them, but I assume he did something marvelous.)

    • kborman says:

      ACK – I updated it. They weren’t showing up on my Chrome browser but were for Firefox. Hopefully you can see the wonderful pictures now.

      Thank you so much for the birthday wishes and stopping by!

  4. Happy birthday! You obviously had a fabulous one!

    I love how thoughtful and tender Jak is with you! I’ve raised him well 😉

    The card your niece made for you has to be my favorite thing on your list. So sweet!

    And congrats on the Chromebook! It’s very sexy!

    • kborman says:

      I did have a great week, thank you. Jak is so sweet to me, I owe him a smooch (hold on …okay, done.)

      My niece was very proud of her card. Grandma helped her with the rest of my name, but the “a” she wrote all by herself.

      I am loving the Chromebook. It’s battery life is AMAZING.

  5. Jak says:

    Awwww Thank you for so many kind words! It means the world to me. I was glad I didn’t chicken out from meeting your parents and family. It was indeed nerve-wracking for me, but I think I did okay 🙂 They seemed to be be alright with me, though the kids (well, except Owen) were a bit skittish.

    Mia’s card is adorable.

    Was a busy weekend of family events and I’m glad we got to do them all together. I hope you enjoyed your lunch! And it is sweet your work celebrates too, but I never got any of that office birthday cake! GAH!

    Hopefully you will find more time to paint soon. With your new “toy” it may be hard to focus on it when you can now more easily peruse the web. I hope you get a lot of mileage out of your Chrome Book and that I don’t somehow destroy it on accident with my curse >.<

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    • kborman says:

      I think you are just fine with the family. All of the kids are skittish with new people, Owen seems to have gotten over that phobia — the perk of starting school I suppose.

      Office birthday cake was good, but we don’t really have extras. I barely got a piece the second day and only did because my coworker noticed there was a little left and saved me some.

      Maybe I will be the one to help you break your curse? I trust you. >.>

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
