Ten Things of Thankful – Week 4

This week was a short work week, and kinda a hassle and very emotional, but as we start a new week, this weekend was a wonderful surprise and blessing. So I am THANKFUL I can reflect and share the positives of my week.

050fc-tenthingsbanner

  1. That I was able to take Monday off and spend time with Jak and his grandma. She is a wonderful, sweet lady, and makes me a smidget jealous. She kinda reminds me of my mother’s mother who passed away when I was six years old. As someone who has had all of their grandparents pass before I became an adult, I love spending time with my friends’ grandparents.
  2. I had a productive meeting with my boss. I have been experiencing a work lull for the past couple of months, and our conversation rejuvenated me. We both agreed to find ways I can continue to learn, which is very important to me.
  3. A wonderful date night on Friday night. Went to see 2 Guns and had late night Perkins run. Twas great fun.
  4. My friend Erica came home from a month long vacation. I missed her and we caught up. Nothing beats a solid girl talk over wine. She is my person. (Grey’s Anatomy reference.)
  5. Farmer’s market. Despite sleeping in way later than I thought I would, I woke up and roommate asked if I wanted to go to the farmer’s market. I was already planning to, and so we made it there 20 minutes before it closed. For $5, I got fresh cucumbers, onions and sweet corn. Yum.
  6. A roommate moved out, so the other roommie and I did a solid kitchen purge/cleaning binge. It was so long overdue and we got rid of three garbage bags of stuff (old food containers, old food etc)and two recycling bags. Also equals a cleaned out fridge/freezer (scrubbed even!) and new found space for us to arrange/rearrange.
  7. Roommate is making homemade sambusas/samosas. And she needed my help, so I learned how to roll them. They are in the oven right now, cannot wait to eat them! (Edit: They were delicious!)
  8. That it is finally August! Life got a bit less crazy hectic. I look forward to getting back to some of my routines: working out, painting, and seeing my kiddos (nieces and nephews) more often.
  9. My clean desk and clean laundry. It seems silly, but when life is crazy, my desk and laundry explode. On Thursday/Friday, I was able to tackle both of these. And a huge sigh of relief escapes me when I walk into my room.
  10. My car is fixed! Now don’t speak too loudly, we don’t want to jinx anything.
Posted in Inspiration, Life, Thankfulness
14 comments on “Ten Things of Thankful – Week 4
  1. Lizzi Rogers says:

    Wow it sounds as though you’re doing an amazing job at getting your life (and your laundry) under control and Getting Things Done. So lovely to be able to include that kind of achievement on a list.

    A good week for cooking, too, what with the bargain vegetables and learning to make samosas (I’m a little jealous of that one, if I’m honest)

    The thing I liked best was that you got to meet up with your person. That’s always a joy to do and I’m glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing this list with us.

    • kborman says:

      It really is amazing when a solid dosage of chores makes a huge difference.

      One item that didn’t make the list, but you have mentioned, is cooking. I made two delicious meals earlier this week, and now learning about samosas! Cooking, a different form of art, is also very therapeutic.

      • Lizzi Rogers says:

        Cooking is truly one of the joys in my life. It’s such a sensory experience – the textures, colours, tastes and scents, and the way you can manipulate the ingredients, the flavours, and create something wonderful to bring joy to someone’s mouth and their heart…I love it 🙂

  2. April says:

    Awesome list!!!

  3. Kristi says:

    #9 is not silly at all; I can certainly relate! And I also enjoy walking into an organized room.

    • kborman says:

      🙂 I always say, you can determine how stressed my life is by the state of my desk (and probably how many layers it takes to get to the surface!)

  4. christine says:

    There is nothing like a productive week! A cleaned out kitchen and a tidy desk? Wonderful! Can’t say that I’ve had one for a while now. 🙂

    Jak’s grandma sounds awesome. I love that Jak visits with her so often, and I’m glad you are able to go. I still have one grandparent left, and I adore her. Everyone should have a chance to visit with folks from that generation. We can learn so much and have loads of fun.

    So glad you linked up with us!

    • kborman says:

      Yes, I love how much time he makes for his grandma. They have a wonderful relationship.

      Maybe that is why I make so much time for my nieces and nephews. 🙂

  5. Jak says:

    That is one very productive week! Especially tackling the fridge/freezer. I should do my freezer too, but I’d rather cook the hams I have sitting in there rather than throw them out >.<

    I'm glad you were able to visit my grandmother with me, she really enjoyed your company. I like that you can engage in chatter as I slink away and freak out about doing a guest post, but instead play Candy Crush!

    I'll have to make it out to the Farmer's Market someday. I've been saying that for a looooooong time now, though. Thanks for the cucumbers!

    Sometimes desks get cluttered, but it's all good 🙂 We can sometimes be disorganized in a very organized fashion.

    Hope you enjoyed the movie!

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

  6. #4 is my favorite on your list, because I know EXACTLY what you’re talking about! I have a person, too (I write about her occasionally in my blog). But, sadly, mine lives 500 miles away and I only get to see her a few times a year. Glad yours is back for you!

    • kborman says:

      I am glad you understand! I can tell her anything and she offers helpful advice without being condescending or thinking poorly of me. When you find them, keep ’em!

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
