Tomorrow’s Gonna Be Better

“Sometimes it’s easier to hit the road
When the world is givin’ you a heavy load
But if you stay and face it, I know…
Tomorrow is gonna be better.” – Joshua Radin

So, if you cannot tell by the quoted lyrics, it has been one of those weeks. I will spare you many of the details, but the week has been interesting to say the least.

Last Sunday, I spent the evening dog watching at my sister’s. Which was fine, her dog is so well behaved, and I had access to AC, DVR and internet, and an awesome shower. It proved to be an inspiring environment for me to take chances. (Possibly more on that at a later date). And then Monday kicked off the work week with a very awkward and uncomfortable work meeting, followed by interesting work conversations throughout the week, to a highlight of a possibility to explore a new opportunity, to tough conversations and realizations, to BAM! A car crash, completely my fault. Damn green lights, crazy busy traffic due to location and road construction. Traffic stopped suddenly during a split second distraction. And well I did not. Thankfully, I was on my way to meet a friend for sushi gluttony, so I could easily feed my feelings right after it happened.

But rather than focus on the negatives — that crash seems to have provoked all the emotions I had been feeling all week — I will write a post of thankfulness. My friend, Jak over at The Cryton Chronicles, participates in a “10 Things of Thankful” blog hop every week. I figured, this week was a good week to force me to think of the same.

Ten Things of Thankful
  1. I am thankful that the crash wasn’t more serious. Another fender bender, this time, my car wasn’t as lucky. A cracked bumper, but hey, isn’t a bumper meant to bump? I am thankful my bumper took the majority of the damage. Other car’s bumper was also dented, so we will see what comes of it in the next few days, I suppose.
  2. That I already see an awesome chiropractor, and that she had an opening for tomorrow morning. Again, no real damage, just a bit of a stiff neck. Nothing an adjustment or two can’t fix. Could have been far worse.
  3. My friends, particularly those who were comforting after hearing about my week and all of the events.
  4. My dad. He knows I worry and get worked up over things, so when I told him what happened, he chuckles and just says, “You gotta stop doing that.” (Referencing that I did a very similar thing last fall. How does one person go 11+ years with a spotless driving record and then two in a year? Not my year, I guess.) He is one of the best at calming my nerves.
  5. My own ability to write about and sell myself well. And the luxury to be able to do so in a leisurely manner.
  6. My work for allowing me to take on professional development opportunities and training me in areas that I know nothing about. In the coming month, my work is paying for me to learn all about our website platform at DrupalCon and then learning how to shoot and edit videos. Great skill sets to have!
  7. The opportunity to go see a play this week for free! I interviewed one of my work’s clients this week for a success story, and the director offered me two free tickets to the current show since I hadn’t yet been to one of their productions. So on Wednesday night, a friend and I get to go see Urinetown. It looks like a funny musical!
  8. That I was able to pass on my registration for the Color Run 5K to someone who was actually interested in participating. It just wasn’t in my cards this time around, but thankfully someone else wanted to run in my place, and my registration wasn’t wasted.
  9. A customer service representative and billing agent who took the time to listen to my problem and try their best to help fix it. After a long struggle over a medical bill discrepancy, I finally was able to get to the bottom of it, and the health insurance representative went above and beyond to help me understand. She also apologized for those who never explained things to me in the past. The billing agent was the first person from this clinic’s billing office who didn’t talk down to me when explaining their policies and procedures. She even decided to knock some money off my bill, probably because she could empathize what a hassle this has been for me.
  10. Good food! This week I have been fortunate to indulge in great food. I cooked my first ever rack of lamb this week with roasted veggies! It was delicious! And then I had a work meeting at a Thai restaurant. I had sushi Friday night and then last night my roommate hosted a Turkish dinner party. And as it often is the case, most of my good food was accompanied with great company. I am thankful I am able to afford such a luxury!
Posted in Inspiration, Life, Struggles, Success, Thankfulness
14 comments on “Tomorrow’s Gonna Be Better
  1. Jak says:

    I’m really glad you participated in the 10 Things of Thankful!

    You’ve definitely had a rough week, but at least you know there was some awesomeness sprinkled throughout, which hopefully outweighs the rest.

    I’m really glad you were able to figure out the medical bill situation. That would have been so frustrating with all the back and forth going on.

    I’m a bit jelly about all the good food! My experiences weren’t as delicious as yours lol

    Looking forward to Urinetown… even if a bit concerned with the name πŸ˜‰

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    • kborman says:

      I have always thought this was a great blog hop, and it is really a great idea to reflect on each week and think about the positives that exist. It is healthy for the mind!

      Hey, you can always partake in scrumptious deliciousness with me. Especially if I am cooking it.

      It looks like it will be a great show, and I have heard awesome reviews. To help you digest the name, and for those who didn’t click to read, Urinetown is a comedic musical about:

      “In a Gotham-like city, a terrible water shortage, caused by a 20-year drought, has led to a government-enforced ban on private toilets. The citizens must use public amenities, regulated by a single malevolent company that profits by charging admission for one of humanity’s most basic needs. Amid the people, a hero decides he’s had enough, and plans a revolution to lead them all to freedom!”

      • Jak says:

        It is healthy for the mind! And I will definitely keep the food factors in mind.

        I actually looked up the description right away once hearing the title lol sounds interesting πŸ™‚

  2. Hi and thanks for linking up with us. Good ol’ Jak for spreading the word – this (your bad week and subsequent decision to change your attitude) is *exactly* the point of this here hop πŸ™‚

    Rough week aside, it does sound as though you have some awesome things going on in your life at the moment – ongoing professional development (especially as good as the stuff you mention) is priceless and the transferable skills will last forever.

    And Yay! for close families, good friends and wonderful food πŸ™‚ A truly scrumptious list.

  3. So, you’re a friend of Jak’s? I’m glad he inspired you to participate in 10 Things of Thankful! Even crappy weeks leave us with something for which to be thankful. Hoping this week is much better for you and that the insurance gods are on your side in the whole car accident thing. And I hope you’ll write about Urinetown – I live in a backwards, small city-ish town in southwest Missouri, and I can promise you a play with that name would NEVER be performed here!

    • kborman says:

      Thanks for stopping by! I *am* Jak’s friend. IRL even too. πŸ™‚

      I think crappy weeks often have us focusing on the negatives, but thinking about the positives can *really* help calm the mind.

      I certainly have thought about writing about the play. Maybe Jak and I can team up and co-write something, or even have a discussion about it and share our thoughts. That might lend itself to an interesting post!

      • christine says:

        That’s a great idea! While there would be a chance of the performance coming to Indy, I’d never have the time to go. Dyanne and I will live vicariously through the two of you.

      • Jak says:

        I was actually already planning the possibility of writing about the play πŸ™‚ A review of sorts, though I’ve never done one (and of a play no less…). So maybe something can be concocted in some fashion!

  4. christine says:

    So good to hear from a friend of Jak, and a real-life friend no less!
    I appreciate these lists of thankful even more on weekends when I’ve had a rough week. I hope you found it to be a worthwhile activity.
    Glad the accident didn’t include major injury. Those fender benders can hurt, though, even if not causing anything major to go wrong. Hopefully the insurance will work out in an easier manner than the medical insurance did.
    Thanks for linking up with us this week!

    • kborman says:

      Thanks for stopping by! I hope that I can continue to join you on this blog hop– I like that it is just a weekly/weekend post.

      Yes, nothing more than a stiff neck/sore muscles. I am sure with time it will get better.

  5. Joy says:

    Love your TToT post! Hope you will be linking up with us again this weekend! πŸ™‚

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
