Don’t say I didn’t warn you – Slow Down Gandhi You’re Killin’ ‘Em

Day 22, Wednesday: Rant about something. Get up on your soapbox and tell us how you really feel. (a pet peeve, a current event, a controversial topic, something your husband or roommate or neighbor or boss does that really ticks you off).

Alright. This is a loaded prompt and one that I cannot spend that much time on. Hell, I am already late. We are going to pretend that I am on Pacific time right now, kapeesh?

Here is my soapbox: I do not support the military.

In fact, I think the military is a legalized form of creating murderers. I don’t support how the military treats our soldiers in the program, the brainwashing tactics they use, and then how the treat them after — with little or no support that is needed to treat PTSD. I hate that the government focuses so much money and resources on military, like that is the most important need in our country. What is that teaching our youth, and what is it showing our adults? I hate it even more that we send our troops overseas to fight and defend in matters that are unrelated to us. Point blank, it is not something I support. So holidays dedicated to this cause are hard for me to stomach. I, like everyone else, have friends and family that have served. But maybe it is best if you don’t ask about how that makes me really feel on the inside.

Sage Francis says it well in his song, “Slow Down Gandhi” and I agree with him 100%.

“So look for truth, quit seeking forgiveness.
You need to cut the noose, but you don’t believe in scissors.
You support the troops by wearing yellow ribbons?
Just bring home my motherfuckin’ brothers and sisters.

Cause they don’t call the shots
(but they’re in the line of fire).
I’d like to call the cops
(but they’re breakin’ the line of duty).
It’s time to call a stop
(To the abuse of authority).
The truth keeps calling me
And I’ma live to tell the story.”

I actually agree with most of what he says in this song. Give it a full listen here:


Again, don’t say this prompt didn’t warn you. I know I am in the minority in this opinion, but it is my soapbox nonetheless.

What’s something that pisses you off or that pulls your panties into a bundle? 

Posted in Blog Every Day in May, Struggles

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
