Here a blog, there a blog, everywhere a blog blog

Day 19, Sunday: Five of your favorite blogs and what you love about them.

Alright, since I didn’t profess my love for a single blogger on day 5, I can profess my mini loves for five today. In no particular order…

  1. Ten Minute Missive: Kristina and I go way back to when she was my 11th grade English teacher. Because of her, I knew I wanted to major in English literature in college. Anyways, after I graduated high school, she left teaching to become a stay at home mom, a stand-up comedian and many other new adventures, including working toward becoming a published author herself. Anyways, she is a great storyteller, pays great attention to detail and captures those “in the moment” scenes very well. I can’t wait to read her books some day.
  2. YNPN Twin Cities: I have been a part of the Young Nonprofit Professionals Network for four years now. Every week they publish a new blog post, written by one of their volunteers/members, including four posts from me. They cover a wide range of topics that are useful for professionals that are in the early or middle stages of their careers. Check them out!
  3. Kivi’s Nonprofit Communications Blog: Let’s face it, most of the blogs I read are work related. But there are some really great ones, like Kivi’s that includes a lot of information that can be adapted to any style of writing and communication. She frequently includes many tips and exercises that make you think.
  4. The Cryton Chronicles: This one is a friend of mine, but they way he tells stories always leaves me wanting to read one more paragraph. Someday I know he will write some great book and it will be one of those that I wish there was just one more page at the end. His sense of humor is hard to find anywhere else.
  5. Rosetta Thurman: Rosetta is one of those powerhouse women — someone who you  envy for her courage and drive. But she is so encouraging and motivational! I often get lost in her blog posts, clicking through to many other links and exploring her past posts. She has two blogs, the one I linked to and then also Happy Black Woman, one I just stumbled upon and got lost in it! It’s pretty good sign that while I was trying to decide if she would be my #5, I realizes I got lost in her posts and more than 15 minutes have passed.

So there are five blogs I read regularly.



What blogs do you read and why? What in a blog tends to draw you in and capture your attention? Is it the writer or is it about a certain topic?

Posted in Blog Every Day in May, Inspiration
2 comments on “Here a blog, there a blog, everywhere a blog blog
  1. Jak says:

    Thank you so much for the mention. You are really sweet! Not sure I fully agree about the writing bit, but you probably assumed as much 🙂

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
