Do you remember when?

Day 12, Sunday: What do you miss? (a person, a thing, a place, a time of your life…)

I miss college. Not in the sense of going to school, but I miss time as a luxury. Where I created my class and work schedule to accommodate how I preferred to spend my time. Where late nights and late mornings coincided in perfect harmony. When I could spend hours upon hours in the painting studio — where entertainment and passion lived together. When fun in a small town equaled late night drives and explorations, or movie nights that lasted until 4 in the morning. When naps were acceptable and common.

That time when Christmas equaled a month off, and summers were spent at home with family and friends in a temporary summer job.

The time when I flourished as a person and my friends from college loved and accepted the “real” me without the expectations of who I was.

The days when we pretended that money didn’t matter: school was expensive but rent was cheap. When college roommates were your best friends and the days of chores/cleaning schedules actually worked. When challenges and frustrations in school were conquered and then equally celebrated by loud music, dance and homemade dinners with friends. When a good friend and I celebrated every week by sharing lunch and dessert every Friday over coffee.

Those were the days where time was of the essence. The days were spent doing things that I love, with those I love. I am happy with my life now, but a huge part of me wishes I could go back and relive those days again. So many memories made, so many friendships established. Less worry and routine. So much time… to spend it how I want to spend it.

Is there a time in your life that you miss? What would you do if you had the opportunity again?

Posted in Blog Every Day in May, Life
2 comments on “Do you remember when?
  1. Jak says:

    I think it’s great you have those memories to cherish. I skipped the whole “college” years, and am uncertain how I would have handled myself. Would I have partied a lot? Would my constant late nights affect my school work?

    The shifting to life outside of college is just different. People have jobs/careers now, begin families, new priorities and responsibilities. I still think a lot of it can be recaptured, though, especially with your art 🙂

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

  2. kborman says:

    I think your late nights would fit in perfectly in a college setting. There definitely would be far more people to keep you company. As for partying, hah, yeah that comes with it. I wasn’t much of a party goer, but that doesn’t mean there wasn’t plenty of that happening in other ways.

    The thing I miss most is having unlimited access to all the art studios. They were open until midnight nearly every night. There was plenty of room and supplies and always inspiration brewing by your classmates’ work etc. I never had to worry about space or smell or ventilation issues. Maybe someday I can have my own studio space. I am also determined to live in an artist loft at some point. In due time.

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
