I will always be her T-Kate

Day 5, Sunday: Publicly profess your love and devotion for one of your blogger friends. What makes them great? Why do you love them? If you don’t have blogger friends, talk about a real-life friend or even a family member.

This one is hard for me to do. Many of the blogs I follow actually tend to be more work related and applicable to my job, whereas my blog tends to be less focused on my 9-5 and more focused on my passions.

So I am taking the other option with this post and I am going to gush about my niece Mia.

This is Mia. Taken today, at my nephew’s birthday party.

May 5, 2013

Playing on the swings at cousin Owen’s 5th birthday.

Now mind you, I love all my nieces and nephews (four and another on the way), but Mia and I have always had a special connection. In her eyes, I am T-Kate. This stands for Auntie Kate but she hasn’t perfected how to say auntie yet, and at this point, I don’t see the point. It has stuck.

Mia will turn three on June 12. I was with my sister the entire time she was in labor, and was at the hospital when Mia was born. She came into my life right when I was in job transition, trying to figure out where my career would take me next. When she was six months old, I lost my job. I eventually was re-employed with the same company a month later, but only at 16 hours a week. Those hours only allotted me to to pay my bills, so that means I was home a lot. During the spring of 2011, I watched Mia at least three times a week for 4-5 months. And our connection hasn’t wavered since.

Mia fell asleep on me when we were watching "Play with me Sesame" when she was six months old.

Mia fell asleep on me when we were watching “Play with me Sesame” when she was six months old.

At only three years of age, this little girl has sass and personality that cannot be matched. She is particular in many ways — she needs to be updated about her surroundings and she needs five minute warnings so that she can prepare for what’s next. But she gives the biggest hugs and smooches, has the best giggle and honestly, she lights up my world. I would cross hellfire for that little girl. She has seen me through job transitions, a serious break up, moving out and growing up. If we haven’t seen each other for more than a week, she makes her mom (my sister) call me or she starts to make up random stories about me.

Today she wanted me to crawl through the ropes course with her and sit next to me at lunch. I know someday I probably won’t be the coolest person in her life, but I hope she will always find the need to call me when we haven’t seen each other in a while. Maybe I will be the person she gushes her secrets to or is who she calls when a boy breaks her heart. I can help her get ready for her dances, teach her to drive, and be her home away from home. But until then, I will climb through jungle gyms with her and she can give me the biggest, wettest smooches. I will always be her T-Kate and she will always be my baby girl.


Do you have a special connection with someone?  If so, why do you think your connection is stronger than others?  

Posted in Blog Every Day in May, Family, Life
2 comments on “I will always be her T-Kate
  1. Awww. So sweet!
    I’m still a little sadden that my 4-year-old niece knew Brady’s name before mine. Whatever, life goes on… 😉

    • kborman says:

      It’s not about who knows your name first, it’s about if she knows your name the longest! 😛 I am sure you will teach her many awesome things through the years.

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
