Breaking down barriers

Day 4, Saturday: Favorite quote (from a person, from a book, etc) and why you love it.

“Everyone smiles in the same language.” – George Carlin

This was a quote that was in one of those flip prayer books that you put on your bed stand. I had gotten this flip book from my mom when I was little, a hand-me-down and this was the quote that was for my birthday, September 7. It has stuck with me ever since.

Perhaps it is because I love to travel and explore cultures other than my own. Or the fact that I love to absorb information and the things that are foreign to me. But regardless of where life brings you, the power of the smile never goes away. Even if there are extreme language barriers, a smile communicates kindness and love. It can bring hope when there is despair, joy when there are tears, comfort during times of fear, and forgiveness in times of hate. Smiles use far less muscles than frowns. A smile, is the simplest form of communication, yet often has the biggest impact. It also is contagious.

So smile. Every day.



Posted in Blog Every Day in May
2 comments on “Breaking down barriers
  1. Jak says:

    I like the quote. I feel like I’ve seen it before, but that it wasn’t Anonymous? Either way, it is a really good one. I definitely try to smile each and every day 🙂

  2. kborman says:

    I stand corrected. It’s apparently a George Carlin quote. I always remembered it as anonymous or maybe my prayer book didn’t contribute. Glad to know the quote finally has a parent. 🙂

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
