That gives me the heebie jeebies!

Day 3, Friday: Things that make you uncomfortable.

When I think of uncomfortable, I think of either my skin crawling (heebie jeebies) or goosebumps, or the urge to cry or vomit at something, or it makes my throat close up. At first I thought I had to pinpoint one thing that makes me uncomfortable, but as you can see, it clearly says “things” to which I am glad because I would have a hard time determining a certain “thing” that creates monumental amounts of uncomfortable-ness.

So using my definition of how uncomfortable makes me feel, here are my top five:

  • PDA (Public Displays of Affection): The friends who know me best, know I am not a particularly romantic person. Sure gifts and gestures of love are great, but I personally don’t need them often. And I certainly don’t need public displays of affection. I don’t mind hand holding, a smooch here and there, or a hug to greet or bid farewell. But there are some items best left for the bedroom. I don’t want to see you make out with your significant other at the bus station or in the line at Target. And I also don’t want to make you see the same thing. Heebie jeebies to the max.
  • Confrontation: Maybe it is the worry that is naturally attached to a Virgo or the complexity of my feeling and intuition as an INFJ, but I despise confrontation and will try to avoid it as much as possible. I am an endless communicator, maybe at times to a fault, but I will try my best to prevent confrontations. They make me UNCOMFORTABLE.
  • Public Speaking: I am an introvert, through and through. But for ten years I was active in theatre. So while public speaking makes me uncomfortable, if I am able to channel my former life – I usually do just fine. But guaranteed, I will blush and my face will turn red, every time. 
  • Missionaries: As someone who has explored religion extensively, I get uncomfortable when someone talks about missionary work. There is a difference between providing service and help to others, and performing missionary work with the intention to convert another to your thought belief. When others perform missionary work, they are taking on the mindset that those you are serving are some how less qualified or less inspired in your eyes. Rather, I view service as lending a hand to humans because you genuinely just want to help. Because we all deserve help from time to time.
  • The word “moist”: Those who know me, know I squirm at this word. I have gotten better over the years, but it still gives me the heebee jeebies. Cake should never be moist. That’s disgusting and makes me want to throw up. Gross.



How do you define the term “uncomfortable”? What makes you feel uncomfortable? Are there some things that used to make you uncomfortable, but you have grown out of it – or vice versa? 

Posted in Blog Every Day in May
2 comments on “That gives me the heebie jeebies!
  1. Jak says:

    Well, you took a big step in the public speaking! Very awesome! I totally forgot to use speeches as an example. I’ve never been comfortable with it 😦

    I outgrow a good handful of things that make me uncomfortable once I become familiarized with them. More often than not, anyhow.

    Jak at The Cryton Chronicles & Dreams in the Shade of Ink

    • kborman says:

      Yes, I think that is why I was so proud of myself… lol. Thanks for letting me share it with you.

      I think moist is the one I am sorta starting to grow out of, but it still makes me shudder when I think of the word. PDA has gotten better but I am still not a fan. I don’t know — still gives me a reaction — so must not be completely over them!

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
