Don’t overpay at the Pannekoeken Huis!

Day 2: Educate us on something you know a lot about or are good at.

Wait, you know how to make a pannekoeken?!

Yes. Yes, I do. I learned from a friend in high school when we used the science behind the cooking of a pannekoeken to prove a chemistry equation. And ever since then, I have mastered the art of making a pannekoeken.

The Pannekoeken Huis charges roughly $9-10 per pannekoeken. And then add on tax and tip and maybe a coffee, and you are easily looking at $15 for a breakfast item that costs roughly $1 to make the base + the cost of fruits/toppings to make your koeken fancier.

pannekoeken

A picture of a recent pannekoeken and a cup of Guatemalan coffee. This one has my favorite blend of cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla in the batter and topped with a fresh mango and blueberries — added at the ten minute mark. This meal would have cost me $15 at a restaurant. I made it for $3.

So I urge you, don’t overpay at the Pannekoeken Huis

So it only seems fair that I share my knowledge and recipe on how to make the infamous Dutch Pancake that Americans have learned to love and devour.

Pannekoeken base
Preheat oven to 450°

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1- 2 tablespoons of butter (set aside)
  • Your favorite spices/extract (I prefer cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, pumpkin spice etc. If you choose an extract — I like vanilla–, about 1/2 tsp will suffice or approximately a cap full.)
  1. In a medium bowl. combine flour, milk and eggs. I usually add my wet into my dry, but I have done it either way. If the consistency is super thick, add a bit more milk until it has the consistency more similar to a cake batter than a cookie batter.
  2. In a pie pan (works best if it is glass or ceramic versus a tin one. If you use a metal pie pan, just make sure it is durable, not the flimsy ones you get at Baker’s Square), add your butter and place in your preheated oven. Allow butter to melt and start to hint toward brown. It will melt quickly so don’t walk away, or you will have burned butter and will need to repeat this step.
  3. Once butter is melted, quickly take it out of the oven, and swirl it around, coating the sides. Time is key. In a swift manner, add your koeken batter to the pan and return it to the oven.
  4. Bake at 450° for 20-22 minutes, depending the on weather and the temp of your oven. At 10 minutes, rotate your pan in the oven, to make sure it cooks evenly.
  5. Your pannekoeken is done when you can see it rising to perfection and the sides are a rich golden brown.

The only way to make a pannekoeken recipe complete is to shout “Pannekoeken!” as you remove it from the oven. The poof of the koeken is shortlived, so enjoy it while it lasts. It’s the heat of the oven that makes it so awesome. Room temp deflates it pretty quickly.

So there it is, the base of the pannekoeken. Simple and tasty. You can add your favorite pancake toppings: butter, maple syrup, powdered sugar, fresh fruit or just enjoy it plain.

Once you have mastered the base and plain form, you can start to experiment with different toppings. I have a sweet tooth so I usually opt for fruit. Some of my favorites include apple cinnamon, pineapple, and peach. But before you cruise ahead, let me share a couple of tips:

  • If you are concerned about presentation, I suggest that you cook your add-ins separately. Adding the fruit to the batter, will intrinsically deflate it’s wonderful risen state. Chances are, it will rise little at all, and if you are big on presentation, it is a big let down for the whole “Pannekoeken!” proclamation.
  • But if you could care less about presentation and ultimately just want to enjoy it’s deliciousness, then I suggest two things:
    • Finely chop half of your fruit and add it to your batter prior to baking. This fruit will cook into your koeken dough.
    • When you reach the half point of cooking (remember, to rotate!), add the remainder of the fruit to the top. This will allow the fruit to cook for 10 minutes, to let it warm up, ooze it’s juices while still maintaining a crisp fresh texture and flavor. You will have more cooked pieces in your dough.
    • If you would like to have 1/2 presentation and 1/2 incredible deliciousness, simply add your fruit topping only at the 10 minute mark. Your koeken should rise at least 1/2 as much as a full one.

There you have it. Now I must admit, I rarely do savory breakfasts, and I haven’t really tested out vegetables or meats as additions. For meats, you would certainly have to cook prior to adding. Vegetables may differ. If a root, certainly prior cooking will help. If it is a softer veggie, like mushroom, spinach or tomato, then I would probably suggest the 10 minute marker.

Now if you are really intimated and you don’t want to try my recipe but are craving a pannekoeken and live in the Twin Cities, then I suggest you set up a time to come eat brunch with me on a Saturday or Sunday. We can indulge in koeken heaven together.

Have you ever made your own pannekoeken? Or do you know an awesome recipe to make food that other people pay money to splurge on? If so, please share!

Posted in Blog Every Day in May, Cooking, Recipes
3 comments on “Don’t overpay at the Pannekoeken Huis!
  1. Jak says:

    Sounds delicious! I won’t be one attempting to make these, though. I would be afraid of somehow blowing something up, or burning something down 😦 Thanks for sharing your recipe!

  2. […] So, I’m already a day late at this blogging thing, and as of right now I have an hour and 45 mins before I’m yet another day late, so I better buckle down and get to it! My friend posted that she was doing this every day in May blog posts thing, and she is way busier than me, so I figure I better suck it up and start blogging again too. She is a way better writer than me though, so you should probably pop over there and read her stuff. […]

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
