Home

So as much as I would love to be writing poetry every day for National Poetry Month, it is simply just not possible this year. Working on average 11 hour days and starting to prepare for my best friend’s wedding full steam is taking up many hours in a given day or week.

But like the poem about my mother, I have also had ideas brewing in my mind for this one for a while. Finally over the weekend and tonight, I put enough down on paper to a point where I am .. decently content with it.

So here is poem #2. Maybe I can even squeeze out #3 before April 30th.

Home

Home, not always where the heart is. But your
heart opens my eyes and I realize
you’re not perfect but neither am I.
The chip in my shoulder fits so nicely in your protrusion,
It’s not a mistake, it’s an absolution.
I knock on your door – cold and uninvited.
You step aside, my wrong has been righted.
We aren’t keeping score, there is n­­o reason.
A scar torn open is just another lesion.
Our golden rule: honesty always and on purpose.
Unveiled thoughts become truths that hit the surface.
You are the calm before and after every storm,
even when your words have created more harm.
Compared to a masterpiece you are rough around the edges.
A mistake or a failure, he alleges.
But to me, your character builds like each layer of paint
adding depth and history. But certainly not for the faint
of heart.

Your heart…is in my home.

—–

So this song is hard to not post because it is this sort of conversation that prompted the poem.

Go Home by Dessa

Posted in Life, Passion
One comment on “Home

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
