National Poetry Month

Hard to believe it is April Fool’s Day. April showers, bring May flowers? Or perhaps the best part of April is that it is National Poetry Month. Be inspired.

And to celebrate, I give you a poem. {gasp}. Though, be forewarned, this poem, is dense. And perhaps fitting to the line “April showers bring May Flowers” — May does bring Mother’s Day after all. I wanted to publish this today, even though it is a piece that I feel like will never be finished. But, here it is nonetheless.

Where have you been?

Remember our favorite bedtime story,
“I love you forever, I like you for always”?
We were that mother and child.
When did that expire?
In that story, when the child moved across town,
that mother would leave at night, and drive.
There was no excuse for distance or time.

Always a worried child,
little details wracked my brain,
cautious and quiet and tender.
But you taught me to listen.
“Your heart will not lead you astray.
Smile and open your mind.
Dry your eyes.”
Sunrise, sunset.

I used to wait up until 9 p.m.
just so I could hear your voice tuck me in.
For 18 years, your voice
echoed off the walls of my bedroom
as my eyelids refused to crack.
At 7 in the morning.
Now when I hear your voice,
I am reminded of all the ways
I don’t make your heart smile.

Where have you been?

I never expected one gunshot to destroy two lives.
One bullet penetrating the skull,
leaving two hearts frozen in the snow.
One phone call tripped
my two dancing feet.
And your smile disappeared.

Your mind, once an open prairie,
now swallowed and uprooted by a redwood.
Not like The Giving Tree.
But if you listen to your heart, mom,
you will hear your roots,
trying to reach as far as your branches.
Into the soil that I call home.

Because I have no kids,
and because the tune my heart sings
is a different song.
Mom, I just opened my mind.
And my eyes, they are dry.
Because I learned to smile.

Where have you been?
—-

So there it is.

And on to other news. I was nominated, for a chain blog entry from the Liebster Awards. These award originated in Germany as a method to discover new blogs. And so, I thank Jak at The Cryton Chronicles for sharing the wealth of knowledge to my little happy place, Daily Discovery.

Liebster Award Rules

  1. Post the award on your blog (Like I have above)
  2. Thank the blogger who nominated you for the award and display a link back to their blog
  3. Post 11 random facts about yourself
  4. Answer 11 questions that the presenter of the award has asked you
  5. Nominate 11 new bloggers with fewer than 200 followers that you want to pass the award on to
  6. Ask your nominees 11 questions

11 tidbits about me:

  1. So have you ever heard any of those switched at birth stories on the news? Well 27 years ago, I was one of those babies. But thankfully, I didn’t have to go my whole life to figure out if I was with my real family. Mine only lasted 1/2 a day.
  2. I have survived a natural disaster… while in a different country. I was stuck in a flash flood in the Saharan Desert in Morocco.
  3. My name is just Kate. It is not short for Katherine or Kaitlin or Katrina. Just Kate. Short and sweet.
  4. I had a childhood dog that was born on the day my grandma died. She loved to play cards so we named him Ace.
  5. When I was a munchkin, I once got my hand stuck inside a toy machine. You know the ones you pay a quarter to get a mysterious small plastic toy in  clear plastic egg? Turns out my hand was larger than my cousin’s.
  6. I was born exactly on my due date. Only 5% of the population is. But then again, perhaps if I was early or late, I may have had better luck at the hospital.
  7. Continued with rare percentages: my blood is B+. I try to donate all the time, but sitting for over 45 minutes to donate a couple of bags of blood sure makes a person dizzy.
  8. My last rare percentage fact: I am an INFJ. I protect. I nurture. I create.
  9. When I was six, I broke my wrist in two places. My arm was in the shape of a U but once my aunt mentioned the doctor, I tried my best to convince her I was fine.
  10. I am terrified of bats.
  11. I am also not fond of canoes. Good luck getting me on one. Especially without a paddle.

11 Questions from my Presenter

If nominated and wishing to accept the award, please remember to answer these questions about yourself in your post.

  1. What is your favorite color?
    Brown. I am very fond of earth tones.
  2. If you could have any superpower, what would it be? Why?
    I used to always say to mind-read or to be invisible. But now as an adult, I love to travel but plane tickets are so damn expensive. So I say: to fly. Telepathy would be a very close second.
  3. If you were resurrected as an animal, what would you want to be? Why?
    Hmm…a giraffe. 1) I love Africa. 2) Think of the views! 3) They are gorgeous. 4) Other fun facts.
  4. What is the last book you read and/or are currently reading?
    Oh man, I am in need of a reading vacation. I started and have yet to finish these books:
    Carry the One by Carol Anshaw,
    Say Her Name by Francisco Goldman, and
    Nonprofit Rockstar by Rosetta Thurman and Trista Harris
  5. Who is your favorite Author?
    Cannot choose just one. But I can give you the author of my favorite book? Nawal El Saadawi wrote Woman at Point Zero. Other authors I enjoy are: Toni Morrison, Tana French, Langston Hughes.
  6. Have you ever participated in NaNoWriMo or the A to Z Challenge before? If so, what were your experiences like?
    I have not.
  7. What is (or was) your most anticipated movie to be released in 2013?
    I am curious about The Great Gatsby
  8. Who was your first movie crush? 
    Hmm. I don’t know I never swooned over actors. But I did like Mekhi Pfifer a lot when he was ER and starred in O. Or Sean Thomas in Save the Last Dance.
  9. What would your dream job entail?
    Write and paint full time. Work in a nonprofit part time. Perhaps someday.
  10. Who has been the most influential person in your life? 
    My mom, though in much different roles these days.
  11. Do you believe in the supernatural? If so, any experiences?
    Yes. No direct experiences but first-hand stories through family members.

11 Liebster Award Nominees
This is tough but I will try my best.And the nominees are:

11 Questions for My Nominees
If nominated and wishing to accept the award, please remember to answer these questions about yourself in your post.
  1. If you had to incorporate one food item into your daily diet, what would it be?
  2. If you could time travel, what time period would you visit (past or present)?
  3. What country do you want to visit most? Why?
  4. What is your favorite season?
  5. What is your favorite board game? Why?
  6. How long have you gone without showering? Was it on purpose?
  7. You have to bring something outside, just beyond your front door. Shoes or no shoes?
  8. What is one song that you could listen to daily and never get sick of?
  9. When visiting an art museum, which kind/genre of art do you visit first?
  10. If you could have lunch with one person, dead or alive, who would it be?
  11. What is the one irrational fear you have? Is there a story behind it?
Posted in Poetry
8 comments on “National Poetry Month
  1. Kate Hopper says:

    Thank you so much for this award!! I’m honored, and I’m so glad to know about your wonderful blog. I actually was nominated by another blogger, as well, and I posted about that here: http://motherhoodandwords.com/2013/02/a-little-blog-love/. But thank you!! And I look forward to being in touch!

    Warmly,
    Kate

  2. Thanks for the nomination, Kate.
    Hope I can get to this by the end of the month. 🙂

    My brother took an English class with me in High School and got into trouble and the teacher yelled out “Andrew” and people that knew him laughed. He told her, my name’s not Andrew… She thought Andy was short for Andrew. Teacher got her face cracked! Also, none of my seven siblings and I have a middle name.

    I still have to tell you about the kayak incident while in the car w/ Brady & Susan. Hilarious, yet scary!

    • kborman says:

      I figured you might enjoy this and I love your blog. Names are funny — because just when you think you know someone then you find out their real name or what not etc. I have had friends I know for years be like, your full name is Katherine, right? And I am always like “No! How long have you known me?!?” LOL.

      Aunt Suzie in a kayak would be hilarious! 🙂

  3. Sarah says:

    Kate,

    Thanks for the award! I will definitely participate! What fun!

    By the way, I loved your poem. Very moving. Good job!

    • kborman says:

      Sweet! It kind of reminded me being in middle school when we used to fill out all those question surveys from friends.

      Thank you very much! I need to get back in the habit of writing more poetry. Painting and poetry, painting and poetry. 🙂

  4. […] off, hi there. Secondly, take a moment if you will to go read this awesome poem “Where Have You Been?” by my young friend Kate Borman. She was sweet enough to include me in a blog hoppy award […]

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
