Ignite the flame

For many years, I have created a New Years goal list, one goal for every year (e.g. 12 goals for 2012). This year, I am stopping that tradition. Not because I don’t like it, but because this year I only have two priorities:

  1. To holistically work on myself. I need to rediscover confidence in my self worth, and re-learn how to be comfortable in my own skin. I need to focus on my strengths, let go of what I cannot change, and love myself regardless. 
  2. One of the best ways I can accomplish #1, is by dedicating my time and energy on the one thing truly ignites me. I need to be an artist by fully re-integrating art into my life

Ever since I was a little girl. I wanted to be an artist of some type. In first grade I wanted to paint/decorate shoes like my aunt Susie. From elementary through high school I wanted to write and illustrate children’s books. In college, I lived and breathed art. I spent endless hours in the art studios; I surrounded myself with like-minded people with similar goals.

Then I graduated into the “real world” of bills and a working life and my passion fell to the roadside. For a while it was a hobby and then it became something far worse — it became something I used to do.  I have dabbled here and there over the last several years, but for other people. A request here, a work assignment there, a gift for a friend. But I haven’t created art for me: Art that I love, art that I created with the sole intent of fulfilling my passion. I struggled with it. Instead of having the support network to encourage me to plow through the valleys, I was constantly reminded I couldn’t survive by being an artist, that it wasn’t a realistic way to live. And then I believed it.

But that is not who I am. The flame inside of me is an artist. Art for me is not just visual art, but the written form as well. I still want to be an artist when I grow up but it doesn’t just magically happen. I have to start somewhere and then  I need to work hard for it. But I have to do it for me.

Over the years, I have crafted many artist statements. I have written many poems and papers. But the one that stuck is:

“Writing is my expression; art is my passion.”

Remember that flame on a matchstick? It has been ignited — and this time, I can’t let it blow out.

Posted in Goals, Passion
2 comments on “Ignite the flame
  1. kristina says:

    Get fired up lady!

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
