Loyalty and Vulnerability

One evening about a month ago, I asked a close friend to name a strength of mine. His response? Compassion.

Compassion is the virtue of empathy for the suffering of others. It is regarded as a fundamental part of human love, and a cornerstone of greater social interconnection and humanism —foundational to the highest principles in philosophy, society, and personhood.” (Wikipedia).

My core belief and life goal is to create and maintain relationships with the people around me. This has no boundaries — it affects my work life, my family life, my personal life, my love life and myself. Compassion is deeply embedded in the foundation of this belief. My compassion, paired with patience,  drives me to form loyal relationships: to become the most dependable friend, the person who is there when all others abandon ship, the person who drops personal commitments and plans when you need me. And if you need me, I worry. I worry about you and I take care of you the best ways I know how.

But right now, I need to take care of me. I have let my greatest strength become my strongest vulnerability. My once raging fire is now a little flame.

To describe it in a narrative structure, the little flame inside of me bursts with intensity when I feel restless and bored. The climax is a flight of fancy to abandon everything I know and start new. To run the *%#! away. My falling action is the realization that leaving isn’t practical, nor is it logical. And thus, a well of tears gather under my eyelids, anticipating release but accepting my situation is what it is. So my resolution is to a smile or laugh it off in order to maintain the little flame I have left.

My flame is on a matchstick. There isn’t any wax that drips, collects and reforms to provide foundation and longevity. There aren’t the walls of a lantern to protect the level of brightness and heat. My flame is vulnerable to the exposure of people and situations around me. But that also means I haven’t given up on others — to share whatever light I still have, in hopes to give breath to stronger, warmer flames. I am still here.

My biggest fear is for my compassion to permanently transfer from loyalty to vulnerability and therefore, change the relationships I have with those I care about. I am afraid of losing the people around me because I have let my strength take over and destroy me.  I am afraid that with this new knowledge, people will treat or view me differently. I try my best to tell myself that this isn’t true. That those who love me, love me despite my weaknesses and vulnerabilities.

I have taken the right steps in that direction to take care of me. I am realizing it is a much slower process than I ever anticipated. Please know I am living and breathing and will continue to do so. I will stick this out. My good days will far outnumber my bad days again. Please know I am trying. I am trying my best to take care of and love myself better, and to enjoy the good moments when they happen. But also know I am also really good at wearing a smile and pretending I am great. I decided that pretending may not be the healthiest decision right now. Thank you for reading and listening.

Posted in Uncategorized
3 comments on “Loyalty and Vulnerability
  1. Rich Cowles says:

    You are a good writer, Kate–insightful and interesting. And you are on a path to self discovery. As a fellow reflector and philosopher, I applaud you. I also share the core value of empathy. And, in case it might be applicable and helpful to you, I’ve found that there’s a point beyond which introspection becomes counter productive and it’s time to get back into the fray, back into life and let your subconscious do the work. All best to you. 🙂

  2. kborman says:

    Rich, thanks for reading and connecting, and for your kind words. I agree introspection is a fine line to walk and therefore why I have asked for and obtained help. There is that point in which that, if done alone, can drain a person mentally, physically, and emotionally.

  3. […] to talk about shame without Vulnerability. I briefly talk about my struggles with vulnerability in Loyalty and Vulnerability, but my hopes for this post is to share a bit more of what vulnerability means to […]

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
