12 for 2012

As promised, below includes my 12 goals for 2012:

  1. Travel abroad.
    (I know I already have a trip planned, but it counts!)
  2. Spend at least a couple hours each week on me, i.e. accomplishing something on my list.
    (I don’t consider this cheating, it takes effort to be accomplished and research shows that in order for a habit to become routine is by intentionally incorporating it into your lifestyle.)
  3. Complete 3 paintings.
  4. Find a new volunteer opportunity that allows me to grow as a person and give more of myself.
  5. Run the Torchlight 5k in July.
  6. Do some state travel in summer/fall.
  7. Compose seven new poems.
  8. Learn to cook/grill meats well (steak, lamb, goat, duck — something other than chicken!)
  9. Apply to serve on a nonprofit board.
  10. Read 10 new books.
  11. Save more money and reduce my debt.
  12. Make an impact in somebody’s life by having a positive outlook and sharing more smiles and laughs together.

My thought this year was variety, identifying both easy and hard goals from a wide range. I have realized the goals I failed to complete in the past were goals that were too vague without any clear way to measure success. Additionally, I hope the variety helps when I get in stuck in another.

What goals would you like to accomplish this year?

Posted in Goals
2 comments on “12 for 2012
  1. Élan says:

    What a very nice list. 🙂 Some of our goals overlap! I’d love to serve on a nonprofit board. I’d also love to volunteer with 2 of my favorite orgs in the twin cities (American Refugee Committee and Center for Victims of Torture).

    Traveling abroad would be great, but I depleted my budget in Malaysia. Where are you going? I’d love to go to Morocco, but I think my next trip will be meeting up with my in-laws in Turkey.

    I’d like to run my first 5k in 2012 but I am new to running so it will be a challenge.

  2. kborman says:

    Thanks! I see our goals do overlap some! Deciding how to dedicate my time outside the office is hard. I suppose board service is volunteering, but the goal is to apply and go through the process, who knows maybe there won’t be the right match in 2012.

    Traveling is a tricky one (especially on a nonprofit work budget) but it is ALWAYS a priority for me, even if it is just state travel. Morocco is a lovely country – was there in 2006. My roommate loves Turkey.

    I am by no means a runner. But I did do two 5ks in 2009. Haven’t run much since.. figured it was time to start again. I am a fair weather runner.

    Good luck on your list!

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
