Duality of emotions

While the death of Osama bin Laden brings huge relief, there are legit reasons for alerts and concerns. I fear destructive reprecussions from over celebrating such victory. I also worry about reactions and divisions that will emerge because of this news — that may put many innocent lives at risk. I have seen several quotes and updates posted on my social networks. Some  – great and legendary speakers, religious figures — and some are from my friends. These updates help describe the duality of emotions this news brings not only for Americans, but on a much more individual level. In every death there is a responsibility – and I ask you to read the quotes and ponder YOUR responsibility and what action you decide to make on the breath of this event.

“I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that” Martin Luther King, Jr.

“I have never wished a man dead, but I have read a recent obituary with great pleasure.” – Mark Twain

“10 years, 2 wars, 919,967 deaths, and $1,188,263,000,000 later, we managed to kill one person. (Next time START w/ the Seals 1st)” – Michael Moore on Twitter

“When all people in my country are able to live with dignity and others don’t suffer to ensure our luxuries, then I’ll paint my face and celebrate with you. Until then, I’m smiling through tears.” – Brother Ali

“The killing of Osama Bin Laden brings a measure of justice for the families of all those lost to his senseless terrorism, including Tom Burnett’s family in Minnesota. Our prayers and gratitude are with the brave members of our Armed Forces and intelligence agencies who tracked Bin Laden down and brought him to justice, and who will continue to work day in and day out to keep America safe.” – Senator Amy Klobuchar

“I’m not happy to celebrate the death of anyone. This is not going to make the world a better place. This was only vengeance. This is only going to perpetuate a cycle of violence.” – Kristen Jones

“Do not say, that if the people do good to us, we will do good to them; and if the people oppress us, we will oppress them; but determine that if people do you good, you will do good to them; and if they oppress you, you will NOT oppress them.” – Prophet Mohammed (Peace & Blessings be upon him)

“Those who spend freely;
Whether in prosperity,
Or in adversity;
Who restrain anger,
And pardon all men–
For Allah loves those who do good.” (Surrah 3:134)

So please, take a moment and decide how you are going to act. How will this event change your life, or perhaps change the way you think about things. All I ask is to not let one event create more divisions, more racism, more hate. We have come to far to let the grain slip between our fingers.

Posted in Learning, Life, Struggles
3 comments on “Duality of emotions
  1. Katie says:

    Excellent choice of quotes to share. Thank you…

  2. Kristina says:

    The irony of bin Laden’s death happening on the day I was leading a retreat on peace activism strikes me as, well, ironic. Or perhaps symbolic of the duality of human nature.

    • kborman says:

      Yes, the duality has been with me as well. After receiving wonderful, long overdue news about a job offer – I end yesterday with this news. I experienced the whirlwind of emotions yesterday.

      Thank you for leading a retreat for youth on peace activism – because those kids are our future, and peace is always the answer. I hope they carry those lessons with them throughout their lives.

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
