Trip down memory lane and a bowling lane

So I took a trip down memory lane a few times lately, reconnecting with two of the people I wrote about in my last post.  I am glad I have rekindled both, but for two very different reasons.

Reconnecting with the old friend has been a blessing. It is nice to leave the previous situations in the past and move forward. I think we both realize we had a great friendship that simply was muddled with our own degrees of immaturity. Hopefully this new direction brings a fresh start.

The other connection I made was simply just a phone call. Sometimes all it takes are a few moments to reassure yourself you made the right decision long ago to pack your bags and move on. At least now I won’t have to wonder why or think of the “what-ifs”. Since the relationship ended so sourly before, it was nice to know there are no hard feelings on either end of the situation, yet it is even nicer to know that both of us are in much better places because of it. It is a nice feeling to close a chapter of the book and be content with it.

On a completely different note, this past week I celebrated the big 2-5. Yes, I know, I am a quarter of a century, but I am not having a quarter life crisis at all. Seems silly to me that people actually have those!

We took a trip down memory lane for my birthday – ate at the retro Cafeteria in Uptown and then headed to Bryant Lake Bowl for some old school bowling. Ended the night with a scrumptious cone of gelato. It was a fun evening – a mixture of old, new and re-acquainted friends – blurring the lines of the various stages of my life.

Posted in Learning, Life

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
