Inspired by quotes, sometimes we all need a little inspiration…

T
here’s a point in your life when you get tired of fixing everything & trying to make everyone happy. When you finally decide to quit, it’s NOT giving up. its realizing you don’t need certain people and the bullshit they bring in to your life.”  –Katherine Heigl as Dr. Izzie Stevens

There have been many times in my life where I have chosen to not remain in contact with someone. Chosen is the key word, and yes on purpose. Of course there are always those long-lost friends and acquaintances that you lose contact with over the years. These are not the people I am referring to. I am referring to people in the quote above.


I am not saying that everyone I have chosen to exclude from my life is because they brought bullshit, but oftentimes they brought an unnecessary amount of drama or negativity. These are the types of relationships that take more nurture and care to maintain than to enjoy. Whether it be the friend from high school that was always picking a fight with you or a friend, or the girlfriend from college who you had to rescue from a relationship fight every other month. Or an ex-boyfriend you spend way too many years crushing over and holding onto long after the relationship simmered. For every person I distance myself with, I wish more often than not that I could rekindle that relationship. Not because it is a good idea to, but the memories with that person were great then.

I have been told by several people throughout my life that I have a lot of patience with a huge forgiving heart. I am all about second-chances and oftentimes I don’t understand why others don’t have the same mentality. But my forgiving nature has screwed me over many times, and I often feel like I am living by the quote “Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.” I like to relive and remember the good times and forget the bad. Which is a great mentality – not to let the negative bring you down, but more often than not, I don’t just let myself forget the bad, but I want to bring the past into the present. So often I have to remind myself why I chose to distance myself from this person and let it be. I have to remember that I can forget the bad, but then move on. The past is the past and that is where it belongs.

I will always cherish the good times we had. I will always be thankful of those who have crossed my path and left footprints in my heart because they make who I am today. But the people I choose to have in my life now is because they bring far more positivity than negativity, a lot more laughs than tears. We are constantly creating new memories than trying to relive old ones. They build me up instead of bringing me down. The friends I choose to be in my life yesterday, today and tomorrow make life easier and better, not more difficult.

So I thank you, Grey’s Anatomy quotes, for reminding me to not dwell on the decisions I made. When I made those decisions, I made them for a reason. I have to remember to move forward. Many times life is changing so quickly that all I want to do is shift into reverse in order to relive the familiar instead of cruising ahead into the unknown. I made a decision in January that 2010 was going to be a year of change – that I wanted to start the decade off on the right note and not to fear the unknown. Little did I realize then that mentality was going to affect most areas of my life. Next fall brings so many question marks, but hopefully these changes will fall into place and deliver exactly what is needed.

C
hange; we don’t like it, we fear it, but we can’t stop it from coming. We either adapt to change or we get left behind. And it hurts to grow, anybody who tells you it doesn’t is lying. But heres the truth: the more things change, the more they stay the same. And sometimes, oh, sometimes change is good. Oh, sometimes, change is … everything.”–Ellen Pompeo as Dr. Meredith Grey
Posted in Learning, Life
2 comments on “Inspired by quotes, sometimes we all need a little inspiration…
  1. Andrea Elba says:

    SubhanAllah! This almost brought tears to my eyes! I feel like I was speaking through you, here! 🙂
    I’m so glad I got to read this!!!
    🙂

  2. kborman says:

    Awww.. you are most welcome. I am glad you commented, because it was good for me to re-read over it too. Sometimes I am much more wise in words and have to learn to accept me own advice.

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
