Present – a balance of past and future

So after a reflective weekend, I finally wrote something for me. After I thought about it, I am fairly certain I have not written any poems since graduating college – that is almost two years! There is something about finding your place in the professional world that your personal affairs sometimes take a back seat (I finally started painting again about 2 months ago…)

I know my job security isn’t very sound at this time, but I have realized that a big part of who I am will always be about writing and painting, and no matter what transition my life may be in, I need to hold on to my roots and what makes me happy. Writing and painting will always give me an inner peace – a time of accepted solitude to feel at ease to think and reflect on my life in it’s current status, and more importantly dream about what I want my future to hold.

So here is a token of myself. A small token, but at least a step in the right direction. I hope by summer’s end, I can post pictures of 3 art pieces I am working on.

Present – a balance of past and future

One step forward, two steps back or so the saying goes.
As the sun sets in the west, clouds roll on the eastern bend;
the breeze overwhelmed by gray skies and cool rain.
I get dizzy watching the clock spin, yet 10 years rewind slow.
Where did the time go?

As soon as I catch my breath, I am reminded of my roots.
My shoe wedged in a crack, stuck between a rock and a hard place;
the desire to spring ahead muddled by splinters and steel.
I yearn for change, yet take comfort in what I know.
Where did the time go?

Unconscious thoughts flood my mind with deliberate actions.
Wade in the river ankle deep, my soles slip on the stones;
Hands like branches bend and reach…
Friends come and go, yet faces remain engraved and memories grow.
Where did the time go?

Kate

April 24, 2010

Posted in Learning, Life, Passion
One comment on “Present – a balance of past and future
  1. […] Present – a balance of past and future […]

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
